The PFA player awards and recognition program acknowledges the outstanding achievements of PFA members in the many different dimensions of a footballer’s life.

The program rewards members who have achieved on field excellence, excelled in areas away from the field of play, contributed to other areas of Australian football or made contributions to fellow professionals that have transformed the career paths enjoyed by the footballers of today.

Alex Tobin OAM Medal

Established in 2008 to honour former Socceroos captain and long serving PFA President Alex Tobin OAM, the Tobin Medal is the PFA’s highest honour.

The awards recognises a current or former player who demonstrated four outstanding attributes during their career: leadership, achievement as a player, commitment to fellow professionals, and service and dedication to the game.



PFA Players’ Awards

The prestigious player-voted awards consider the performances of any player playing in the A-Leagues as well as Australians playing overseas. The awards recognise and celebrate Australia’s most outstanding players through peer recognition.

2023 Winners
Women’s Footballer of the Year

Sam Kerr

Men’s Footballer of the Year

Craig Goodwin

Young Women’s Footballer of the Year

Charlotte Grant

Harry Kewell Medal

Jordan Bos

PFA Team of the Season

Based on peer recognition, selection in the PFA Team of the Season remains one of the highest accolades a professional footballer can receive in Australia.

At the end of each season, PFA members from the A-Leagues are asked to vote on their best XI. 

The composition of the team is based on the number of votes tallied for each player in each position, with the substitutes bench comprising those players who finished below those in the starting XI positions. 

The player with the most votes is determined the Team of the Season’s captain.

Life Members

The PFA Life Member designation is awarded to any person who has rendered outstanding service or exceptional support to the PFA.


Kimon Taliadoros


Francis Awaritefe


Andrew Harper

Robert Hooker


Alex Tobin OAM


Craig Foster

Brendan Schwab

Stan Lazaridis


Zeljko Kalac


Greg Brown

Frank Farina OAM

Brad Maloney

John Didulica

Kevin Muscat


Ross Aloisi

Simon Colosimo

Ante Milicic

David Zdrilic


John Aloisi

Clint Bolton


Robbie Gaspar


Matt McKay

Harry Kewell

Cheryl Salisbury

Vince Grella


Ante Covic

Kate Gill

Josip Skoko


Carl Valeri

Mile Jedinak

Alex Brosque

Rodrigo Vargas

Melissa Barbieri

Kim Carroll


Tim Cahill

Dianne Alagich

Joanne Peters

Tal Karp

Glen Moss

John Poulakakis


Amy Chapman

Laura Brock

Nigel Boogaard

Jon McKain


Michelle Heyman

Grace Gill

Travis Dodd

Matt Simon

Tommy Oar


Liam Reddy

Scott Jamieson

Ellie Brush

Claire Coelho

Alex Wilkinson

Nikolai Topor-Stanley

Renaye Iserief