The Matildas Collective Bargaining Agreements (CBA) is a collective agreement between Football Federation Australia (FFA) and the PFA (on behalf of the Players).

The first Matildas CBA was established in 2010 and provides a framework within which the players and FFA operate.

The CBA sets out the rights and responsibilities of professional footballers and the and FFA who employ them. In summary, some of the key provisions of the CBA’s relate to:

  • Minimum and maximum player payments;
  • Insurance requirements and minimum medical standards;
  • Injury payment requirements;
  • Hours of work;
  • Player image rights;
  • Management and provision of the career and well-being program;
  • Licensing and commercial revenue;
  • Scheduling;
  • Distribution of prize money;
  • Travel and accommodation; and
  • Grievance procedures.

The Matildas CBA is due to expire in mid 2015, after the FIFA Women’s World Cup.