A-League Minimum Medical Standards were mandated prior to the start of the 2011/2012 A-League season. The PFA’s A-League Injury Reports, released every season, show that there has been a significant shift in the number of injuries among footballers since the introduction of these minimum standards, as well as a significant cost saving afforded to A-League clubs.

There were 7 key conditions in 2011 that framed the Minimum Medical Standards that we see today in the A-League, these were (full details can be found if you click here):

  1. Medical Testing;

Prior to commencement of each season, each Club shall complete a Medical Assessment (incorporating the Lausanne Recommendations or equivalent) on all players in their squad.

  1. Club Physician;

Each Club will have a certified specialist sports physician.

  1. Club Trainers;

All trainers shall hold a Sports Trainer Level 2 certification from Sports Medicine Australia or a tertiary qualification in Sports Conditioning.

  1. Club Physiotherapists;

Each club shall have a registered physiotherapist available to players immediately prior to and after training and at all matches.

  1. Player Medical Records;

Club doctors, physiotherapists, and trainers shall keep accurate records of players’ injuries, illnesses, physical complaints, diagnostic tests, medical advice provided and treatment.

  1. Player’s Right to a Second Opinion;

A player will have the right to a second medical opinion by a medical practitioner of his choosing

  1. Player’s Right to a Surgeon of His Choice;

A player will have the right to choose the surgeon who will perform surgery provided that: (a) if possible, the player will consult with the Club physician, and (b) the player will give due consideration to the Club physicians’ recommendations.