Former PFA Executive member Frank Farina, now coach of Queensland Roar, has been nominated for PFA Life Membership © Getty Images

PFA Chief Executive Brendan Schwab today announced that the 2008 PFA Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held at the offices of PricewaterhouseCoopers in Sydney on Friday 5 September 2008. The meeting will begin at 3.00pm and will be followed by the inaugural presentation of the PFA Alex Tobin Medal and KimonTaliadoros Scholarships.

The PFA today gave notice to all members of the comprehensive agenda for the AGM, which includes:

  • the Executive’s report on the progress and business of the PFA in 2007/2008;
  • the election of 5 members of the PFA Executive. Under the PFA Rules, any Full Member is eligible to nominate for election. Executive members are elected for 2 year terms and are eligible for reelection. The terms of Ante Covic, Harry Kewell, Ante Milicic, Michael Valkanis and Alex Wilkinson all expire this year;
  • the consideration of the audited financial report of the PFA for the year ending 30 June 2008;
  • the awarding of PFA Life Membership to inaugural PFA President Greg Brown, former Executive members Frank Farina, Brad Maloney and Jeromy Harris, former Chief Executive and lawyer John Didulica and current Executive member Kevin Muscat, who has been a member of the PFA since the association’s inception in 1993;
  • the election of PFA Life Members KimonTaliadoros and Alex Tobin as “PFA Champions”; and
  • the consideration of two important special resolutions:
    • to change the official name of the PFA to “Professional Footballers Australia” from 1 July 2009; and
    • to adopt a new set of Constitutional Rules for the PFA.

Players unable to attend the meeting should appoint another Full Member who will be attending the meeting as their proxy.

Key documents for the meeting can be found at the following links: