Sydney FC’s regular season dominance is on show with a record eight players named in the 2017/18 Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) A-League Team of the Season.

Voted on by the PFA’s A-League based members, the Sky Blues equalled their incredible feat from last season, while Grand Finalists Newcastle Jets (2) and Melbourne Victory (3) ensure that Saturday night’s blockbuster will not be short of star power.

Proudly supported by major partner LUCRF Super, the 2017/18 team is:

GOALKEEPER: Jamie Young (Brisbane Roar)

DEFENDERS: Luke Wilkshire (Sydney FC), Alex Wilkinson (Sydney FC), Rhys Williams (Melbourne Victory), Michael Zullo (Sydney FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Josh Brillante (Sydney FC), Luke Brattan (Melbourne City), Dimitri Petratos (Newcastle Jets)

FORWARDS: Adrian Mierzejewski (Sydney FC), Bobo (Sydney FC), Leroy George (Melbourne Victory)

SUBSTITUTES: Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC), Bart Schenkeveld (Melbourne City), Isaias Sanchez (Adelaide United), Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC), Andrew Nabbout (Newcastle Jets), Thomas Deng (Melbourne Victory), Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City)

COACH: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)

Newcastle Jets midfielder Dimitri Petratos, a driving force behind Newcastle’s fairy tale season, was humbled to be named in the Team of the Season.

“It is a huge honour to be voted by my peers into the Team of the Season and something I am very proud of. The respect of your fellow footballers means a lot and this team is so special to all players,” said Petratos.

Melbourne Victory defender Rhys Williams, who will be a heart-breaking absentee from this weekend’s show-piece, echoed Petratos’ sentiments.

“I am honoured and delighted to be acknowledged with so many great players in the PFA A-League Team of the Season,” said Williams.

PFA Chief Executive John Didulica, speaking in place of PFA President Alex Wilkinson who was selected in the team, paid tribute to those selected in the team.

“There are so many fascinating dimensions to the team – some exciting young talent, new faces from different leagues, players who have rebuilt their careers and loyal club servants who just keep consistently performing at the highest level,” said Didulica.

“Once again, we thought it was important to recognise emerging talent by allocating two places for Under 23 players in the 17-man squad, those spots being filled by two genuinely exciting prospects in Daniel Arzani and Thomas Deng who have become entrenched in their respective first XIs.

“Interestingly- and not through design – the side would comply with A-League Competition Regulations for next season, by featuring five foreign players – given we will have adopted the great Catalan, Isaias, as our own by then.”