Football Federation Australia (FFA) and Professional Footballers’ Australia (PFA) today jointly announced that the 2010 Australian Football Awards will be held on Thursday 7 October at the Sofitel Sydney, ahead of an international friendly match which will see the Qantas Socceroos take on Paraguay.
The Awards provides a unique opportunity for the entire football family, from the Qantas Socceroos and Westfield Matildas to the many thousands of Australian’s who enjoy playing football each and every week, to celebrate their passion for our game and also recognise outstanding achievements and contributions.

There are two main categories in the FFA Awards. The professional category includes FFA Footballer of the Year and FFA U20 Footballer of the Year awards for both men and women, recognising on field excellence and off field professionalism of Australian professional football players. The non professional category includes a team, volunteer, coach and referee award.

The PFA awards will include peer-voted awards for the PFA Footballer of the Year and the PFA Harry Kewell Medal for the best young player. In addition, the players’ association will inaugurate the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year Award, to recognise Australia’s best female player as voted by her peers.

The Football Media Association (FMA) awards will also be incorporated. The FMA will award an Australian International Player of the Year, as voted by the Australian football media.

“We are looking forward to the 2010 Australian Football Awards celebrations. This is the second consecutive year the Awards will be held. It is our opportunity, as a football family, to reward our grassroots community while also recognising excellence from our professional sportsmen and women,” said FFA CEO Ben Buckley.

Both the Qantas Socceroos and Westfield Matildas will be in attendance at the Awards along with other members of our football family.

All winners of the 2010 Australian Football Awards will be announced at the gala dinner.


Note to Media: The FFA Awards are determined by an expert judging panel. In the case of FFA’s professional awards votes are received from national team, Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League coaching staff members. The PFA Awards are voted on by PFA members, being Australia’s professional footballers.