Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) has paid tribute to Diego Castro and Ashleigh Sykes after the pair took out the the top awards at tonight’s Dolan Warren Awards Night.


Having been named as PFA W-League Player of the Month in November, Sykes’ win caps what was a remarkable season for the Canberra United forward. On target on seven occasions during the season Sykes joins the likes of Kyah Simon and Emily van Egmond as a winner of the Julie Dolan Medal.

A star of Perth Glory’s charge to the A-League Finals Series, Castro enjoyed a brilliant debut campaign in the A-League. Twice voted PFA A-League Player of the Month by his peers, the Spaniard edged out Melbourne City duo Aaron Mooy and Bruno Fornaroli and Brisbane Roar’s Jamie Maclaren to win the Johnny Warren Medal.

Maclaren was named the A-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year and Melbourne City FC’s Larissa Crummer was the inaugural winner of the W-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award.

Melbourne City FC’s Bruno Fornaroli was a clear winner of the Nike Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorer for the A-League 2015/16 season with a record breaking 23 goals whilst his club mate, Larissa Crummer, took out the W-League 2015/16 Golden Boot Award courtesy of her 11 goals throughout the season. Joseph Katebian from Melbourne Victory was the top goal scorer for the Foxtel National Youth League 2015/16 season with 10 goals.

Melbourne City FC’s Scottish International Kim Little picked up the W-League’s Players’ Player of the Year Award.

Melbourne City FC’s former Danish International goalkeeper Thomas Sorensen collected the A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award and Kaitlyn Savage from Adelaide United received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Central Coast Mariner Roy O’Donovan scored the A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his 83rd minute strike against Adelaide United in Round 25. Perth Glory’s US-import Vanessa Di Bernardo scored the W-League Goal of the Year for her 88th minute strike against Brisbane Roar FC in Round 5.

After orchestrating a miraculous turnaround from last place in Round 8 to winning the Premiers Plate in Round 27, it was no surprise that Adelaide United Head Coach Guillermo Amor received the A-League Coach of the Year Award and Craig Deans from the Newcastle Jets was named the W-League Coach of the Year as voted for by their peers.

PFA Chairman Craig Foster paid tribute to all of the award winners.

“The past 12 months has highlighted the continued progress of Australian football, with the players continuing to push the game to new levels,” said Foster. “All of the award winners have played a major part in this and on behalf of our members I congratulate them on their deserved recognition.”

Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year): Diego Castro (Perth Glory)

A-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year: Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar FC)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Thomas Sorensen (Melbourne City FC)

Nike Golden Boot Award: Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City FC) (23 Goals)

Goal of the Year: Roy O’Donovan (Central Coast Mariners) (Rd 25)

Coach of the Year: Guillermo Amor (Adelaide United)

Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar FC

Referee of the Year: Jarred Gillett

National Youth League Player of the Year: Dylan Smith (Adelaide United)

National Youth League Fair Play Award:Brisbane Roar FC

Julie Dolan Medal: Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United)

W-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award: Larissa Crummer (Melbourne City FC)

Players Player of the Year: Kim Little (Melbourne City FC)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Kaitlyn Savage  (Adelaide United)

Goal of the Year: Vanessa Di Bernardo (Perth Glory) (Rd 5)

Coach of the Year: Craig Deans (Newcastle Jets)

Golden Boot Award: Larissa Crummer (Melbourne City FC)

Fair Play Award: Melbourne City FC

Referee of the Year: Kate Jacewicz