Following their unbeaten season in the W-League, a record fourth Championship and a Premiers Plate, Melbourne City FC players have dominated the PFA’s LUCRF Super W-League Team of the Season.

With a star-studded line-up of internationals, the runaway Premiers completed a clean sweep of trophies, dropping just two points all season and securing the Championship with a 1-0 win over Sydney FC.

The PFA announced the 16-player squad following the conclusion of the W-League season, with W-League players competing in the 2019/20 campaign voting on the composition of the squad.

Melbourne-based finalists City and Melbourne Victory have a combined 10 players in this season’s squad, while further representation comes from Western Sydney Wanderers (two players), Adelaide United (2), Perth Glory (1) and Brisbane Roar (1).

City’s energetic and marauding right-back Ellie Carpenter was named captain of the team upon receiving the highest number of votes from her peers.

“I feel honoured to be voted into the team of the season and seriously humbled to also be named captain,” Carpenter said.

“I have enjoyed the past season immensely with Melbourne City and I am grateful to play in such a professional environment with world class players at home in the W-League.”

Joining Carpenter in the Team of the Season defence are her City teammates, Steph Catley and Rebekah Stott and Brisbane Roar’s Clare Polkinghorne. Polkinghorne and Catley have now been voted into consecutive PFA W-League Teams of the Season, having featured in the 2018/19 edition.

The midfield consists entirely of City’s Championship-winning trio; Aivi Luik, Emily van Egmond and Kyah Simon, who were instrumental for the Premiers, while the front three is composed entirely of foreign players who made a significant mark on the season for their respective clubs.

American duo Kirsten Hamilton from the Western Sydney Wanderers and Victory’s Darian Jenkins flank Natasha Dowie, Victory’s English striker, in the 4-3-3 formation. The trio scored 19 goals between them, with Dowie and Hamilton finishing the season as equal Golden Boot winners with seven apiece.

Sarah Willacy (Adelaide United), Angela Beard (Victory), Morgan Andrews (Perth Glory), Mallory Webber (Adelaide United) and Lyn Williams (Wanderers) comprise the Team of the Season substitutes.

Melbourne City’s Head Coach Rado Vidosic led his team to a Premiership and Championship double and received the highest number of votes by the players. 

The 2019/20 PFA W-League Team of the Season is proudly supported by PFA Major Partner LUCRF Super.