Adelaide United midfielder Travis Dodd and Brisbane Roar defender Shane Stefanutto were today elected to the Executive of Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) at the 2010 PFA Annual General Meeting held in Sydney.
They replace Melbourne Heart’s John Aloisi and IF Elfsborg’s Ante Covic. The PFA Executive now consists of:
Simon Colosimo, Melbourne Heart (President);
Travis Dodd, Adelaide United;
Shane Stefanutto, Brisbane Roar;
Tim Cahill, Everton;
Chris Coyne, Perth Glory;
Vincenzo Grella, Blackburn Rovers;
Jon McKain, Al-Nassr;
Kevin Muscat, Melbourne Victory;
Liam Reddy, Sydney FC;
Alex Wilkinson, Central Coast Mariners;
John Poulakakis (Chairman); and
Brendan Schwab (Chief Executive).
PFA Chief Executive Brendan Schwab said that he was thrilled with the experience that Dodd and Stefanutto would bring to the PFA Executive.
“Travis and Shane have a long-standing history with the PFA, both having been members since their first year in the old National Soccer League. Shane and Travis have also worked very closely with the PFA recently in relation to major A-League industrial issues.”
Dodd said that he was excited to join the PFA Executive at such a critical time for the A-League and its players.
“It is an exciting time to join the PFA Executive given the issues that players are currently experiencing in the A-League. The PFA has always been a major player in the development and protection of Australian football and I look forward to using my experience to contribute in the same way as those that have done so before me.”
Stefanutto said that it was an honour to join the PFA Executive.
“It is a real honour to join the PFA Executive. The PFA was there for me when I lost my contract earlier this year with the Fury due to the club’s financial circumstances. I am determined to further the cause of my peers starting with assisting the PFA achieving its goal of contract security for all A-League players.”
Schwab paid tribute to Aloisi and Covic, both of whom did not seek re-election.
“John and Ante have been key members of the Executive and made important contributions to the PFA over the last 3 years. Their contributions have enhanced the rights of their fellow professionals at both A-League and Socceroo level.”
About the PFA Executive
Dodd and Stefanutto become the 46th and 47th players to serve on the PFA Executive since the association’s establishment in 1993.  The 47 players to have served their fellow professionals since then are (in alphabetical order and with international honours):
John Aloisi (AUS), Ross Aloisi (AUS), Francis Awaritefe (AUS), Greg Brown (AUS)(President, 1993-1995), Che Bunce (NZL), Tim Cahill (AUS), David Clarkson, Simon Colosimo (AUS)(President since 2005), Vaughan Coveny (NZL), Ante Covic (AUS), Chris Coyne (AUS), Oscar Crino (AUS), Travis Dodd (AUS), Sean Douglas (NZL), Alistair Edwards (AUS), Robert Enes (AUS), Frank Farina OAM (AUS), Craig Foster (AUS), Paul Foster, Vincenzo Grella (AUS), Peter Gunning, Andrew Harper, Jeromy Harris, Danny Hay (NZL), Alan Hunter (AUS), Harry Kewell (AUS), John Kosmina (AUS), Stan Lazaridis (AUS), Brad Maloney (AUS), Andy McDermott, Jon McKain (AUS), Ante Milicic (AUS), Kevin Muscat (AUS), Joe Palatsides (AUS), Liam Reddy, Chris Slater, Noel Spencer, Warren Spink (AUS), Shane Stefanutto (AUS), Kimon Taliadoros (AUS)(President 1995 – 1998), David Tarka (AUS), Alex Tobin (AUS)(President 1998 – 2005), Michael Valkanis (AUS), Alex Wilkinson, Lindsay Wilson (AUS), Stuart Young, David Zdrilic (AUS)
Travis Dodd Playing Career
App (Gls)*
Adelaide City Force
Newcastle Breakers
Newcastle United
Parramatta Power
Johor FC
Adelaide United
39   0(0)
32   0(2)
72   0(8)
27   0(6)
10   0(2)
4   0(0)
115   (24)
National team
2   0(1)
Shane Stefanutto Playing Career
App (Gls)*
Brisbane Strikers
North Queensland Fury
Brisbane Roar
124   0(1)
78   0(1)
43   0(0)
7   0(0)
5   0(0)
National team
3   0(0)