Katrina Gorry’s remarkable 2013/14 season is honoured with the Matildas star announced as the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year.

Edging out fellow nominees Sam Kerr and Emily van Egmond, Gorry became the fifth recipient of the award, joining the likes of Kerr, Servet Uzulnar, Elise Kellond-Knight and Lydia Williams as a winner.

Voted on by all of the PFA’s female members, the award caps an outstanding 2013/14 season for the Brisbane Roar midfielder who was also named as the 2014 AFC Women’s Player of the Year and the Football Federation Australia (FFA) Player of the Year.

Upon receiving the award, Gorry said she was honoured by the recognition of her peers.

“This caps of what was a truly unbelievable season for me,” said Gorry.

“To have been voted by the players as the winner is a huge honour.

“The recognition of your peers is something that is special to all players and I’m extremely proud to have won the award.”

PFA President Matt McKay paid tribute to his fellow Brisbane Roar midfielder.

“On behalf of the PFA Executive and all our members I would like to congratulate Katrina on this well earned recognition,” said McKay.

“For both club and country she has been truly outstanding.

“With the Women’s World Cup just around the corner I have little doubt that Katrina will continue to rack up the accolades and I wish her and her fellow Matildas all the very best in their preparations for the tournament.”

The PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year is proudly supported by PFA Major Corporate Partner LUCRF Super. 

For media enquiries contact PFA Media and Communications Manager Beau Busch on +61 (0) 432763485 or via beau@pfa.net.au.