Socceroos Captain Mile Jedinak and Goalkeeper Mat Ryan honoured as Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) announces the winners of the 2013/14 PFA Footballer of the Year and Harry Kewell Medal.Becoming the first player in the history of the award to have won it twice, Ryan claimed the PFA Harry Kewell Medal after an outstanding 2013/14 season in the Belgian Pro League with Club Brugge and with the Socceroos.

Having previously won the award in 2012, the former Central Coast Mariners shot stopper edged out Mathew Leckie and Trent Sainsbury to become the sixth recipient of the Harry Kewell Medal.

Upon receiving the Harry Kewell Medal, Ryan said he was honoured to have become the first player to twice win the award.

“Winning the award the first time was something that was extremely special and to have been able to do it twice is unbelievable,” said Ryan “The 2013/14 season was a fantastic one for me with the club and the National Team and I’m continuing to love every minute of my time with Club Brugee and the Socceroos.

“Every single player that was nominated for this award was deserving of it, and I’m very humbled to have been voted by the players as the winner. These awards mean a lot to players as your peers understand just how hard it is to be successful in this game and I’m very thankful for their recognition.”

Having led the Socceroos during the World Cup Finals in Brazil and Crystal Palace to an 11th placed finish in the English Premier League, Jedinak follows the likes of Tim Cahill, Robbie Kruse, Mark Schwarzer and Matt McKay in being named as PFA Footballer of the Year. Voted on by all of the PFA’s members Jedinak finished ahead of Mathew Leckie and Tim Cahill in the voting.

“Looking through the list of former winners and to now have my name amongst them is something that is truly humbling,” said Jedinak. “Last season was a very special one for me both on a club and country level.

“To lead my club in the Premier League and the Socceroos at a World Cup was a dream come true and this award just tops it off.”

PFA President Matt McKay paid tribute to Jedinak and Ryan and said both were extremely worthy recipients.

“Mile and Mat’s performances throughout the 2013/14 season for club and country have been truly outstanding by anyone’s standards,” said McKay. “Both have added enormously to the respect that the Nation’s footballers have earned at the very highest level of the game, and there is little doubt that they will continue to do so for a long time to come.”

The PFA awards are proudly supported by LUCRF Super.