After six years of representing her peers, Perth Glory and former Matildas defender Kim Carroll has stepped down from Professional Footballers Australia’s (the PFA) Executive Committee.

During her time on the Executive the 34-year-old was instrumental in driving the growth of the A-League Women competition as well as securing the historic National Teams Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) that delivered equal pay for the Matildas.

Carroll, who made 54-appearances for the Matildas, was appointed to the PFA Executive in 2016 following her contribution to the PFA Matildas Committee, where she was influential in securing the ‘whole of game’ CBA.

Since 2016, Carroll was involved in negotiations for three A-League Women CBAs and served as an A-League Women’s delegate for two seasons.

Carroll will continue her career on the pitch with Perth Glory during the upcoming 2022/23 A-League Women season, but said the time was right to step away from her Executive duties.

“It has been an absolute honour to represent my peers on the Executive and help drive better outcomes for professional players in our domestic leagues and national teams playing on the global stage.

“While I have been part of the PFA, the growth of women’s football has been phenomenal, and it has been so rewarding to play a small part in that progression.

“The Executive and the broader playing group remain committed to driving important outcomes for players on and off the pitch. We’ve challenged each other to make the sport better and create a career that players, regardless of gender, can aspire to and be proud of.

“The wonderful thing about being part of the PFA is that it is not about one or two individuals. It’s about the collective coming together to improve the game and the profession for everyone. I would like to thank all players for their continued commitment to the profession and the PFA.”

About the PFA Executive Committee

Through representative positions on the Executive Committee, professional Australian players help to advance and protect the interests, conditions and welfare of their fellow professionals and actively resolve issues on their behalf.

The current PFA Executive Committee is: Francis Awaratife (Chair), Kathryn Gill (PFA Co-Chief Executive), Beau Busch (PFA Co-Chief Executive), Alex Wilkinson (President), Lydia Williams (Executive Member), Mat Ryan (Executive Member), Elise Kellond-Knight (Executive Member), Jackson Irvine (Executive Member), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Western United) and Tameka Yallop (Executive Member).