Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) today announced that Mark Viduka will receive the prestigious PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal at a gala dinner to be held at Melbourne’s Crown Palladium on Monday 14 February 2011.
The Tobin Medal – the PFA’s highest honour – recognises the true legends of Australian football who demonstrated 4 key attributes throughout their careers: (1) leadership; (2) achievement as a player; (3) commitment to one’s fellow professionals; and (4) service and dedication to the game.
PFA Executive Member Kevin Muscat was delighted that Viduka, a former Socceroo team mate, has joined the elite group of Tobin Medalists.
“For Mark to follow the late Johnny Warren, Joe Marston and Craig Johnston shows the esteem in which he is held by his fellow professionals” Muscat said.
PFA Chief Executive Brendan Schwab recalled Viduka’s progress through Australia’s football system.
“Mark’s development as a player is an example for every aspiring professional,” Schwab said.  “He progressed through the Australian career pathway: the AIS, the old National Soccer League with the Melbourne Knights and Europe, excelling in Croatia, Scotland and England.
“Mark also captained both the Young Socceroos and Socceroos, including leading Australia to the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany.”
The PFA Alex Tobin gala evening will also feature the announcement of:
• the 2010/11 PFA A-League Team of the Season;
• the PFA Kimon Taliadoros Scholarship recipients, for those players who have excelled in their education and development outside of football; and
• the inaugural PFA Craig Foster Media Scholarship to support players seeking a career in the football media.
The night will culminate with a special tribute to the contribution Victorian football has made to the Australian game with the support of A-League Clubs Melbourne Heart, Melbourne Victory and Football Federation Victoria.

PFA President Simon Colosimo spoke of the influence the local champions of the game.
“I remember growing up watching and playing with legends like Oscar Crino, Gary Cole, Alex Tobin, Steve Horvat, Andrew Marth, Paul Trimboli and Mehmet Durakovic.  The passion that existed inside the stadiums was infectious and it drove you to dream that you too could replicate their feats on the field.
“I urge all former players and football fans to join this celebration,” Colosimo added.
The PFA Alex Tobin Medal OAM night incorporating the Kimon Taliadoros Scholarships, Craig Foster Media Scholarship, A-League Team of the Season and a celebration of Victorian Football will take place on Monday 14 February 2011 at Crown’s Palladium. Tickets are priced at $195 with an ‘early bird’ booking price of $180. Contact the PFA on 03 9287 1888 or for bookings.
Mark Viduka’s Career Statistics
Australian Institute of Sport
1993–1995 Melbourne Knights 48 (40)
1995–1998 Croatia Zagreb 84 (40)
1998–2000 Celtic 37 (30)
2000–2004 Leeds United 130 (59)
2004–2007 Middlesbrough 72 (26)
2007–2009 Newcastle United 38 (7)
Total: 409 (202)
1993–1995 Australia U20 20 (32)
1994–1996 Australia U23 18 (17)
1994–2007 Australia 43 (11)
Melbourne Knights
NSL Championship: 1994–95
Dinamo Zagreb
Croatian First League Championship: 1995–96, 1996–97, 1997–98
Croatian Cup: 1996, 1997, 1998
Scottish League Cup: 1999–2000
Individual Honours
Oceania Footballer of the Year: 2000
SPFA Players’ Player of the Year: 2000
NSL Top Goalscorer: 1993–94, 1994–95
NSL U21 Player of the Year: 1993–94, 1994–95
Johnny Warren Medal: 1993–94, 1994–95
SPL Top Goalscorer: 1999–2000