Matlidas name a 23-player squad to face Brazil in a two match series as they fine tune their preparations for the 2014 AFC Women’s Asian Cup in May.

Head Coach Hesterine de Reus announced the squad today ahead of the two match series with the Samba Kings, which will take place at the Queensland Sports & Athletic Centre in Brisbane next week (Sunday 6 April (kick-off 3pm), and Wednesday 9 April (kick-off 4:30pm).

After finishing in seventh place at the recently held Cyprus Women’s Cup, the matches will provide the Matildas with another stern test ahead of the Asian Cup, which will be held in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.

Co-Captain and PFA Matildas Committee Member Kathryn Gill has the opportunity to equal Cheryl Salisbury’s record for the most number of A-International goals by a Matilda which stands at 38 goals.

“Having the chance to equal to Cheryl’s record is a huge honour for me personally and if I do it will be something that I remember for the rest of my life but the key at the moment is the team and making sure we are ready to be successful at the Asian Cup,” said Gill.

“Brazil will give us an invaluable test ahead to the Asian Cup and will allow us to iron out any problems we may have.

“They are skillful all over the pitch and they are not afraid to take chances but we also know that can leave them vulnerable.”

Rhali Dobson, Casey Dumont and Amy Harrison are all in line to make their senior international debuts against the country currently ranked 6th in the FIFA Women’s World Rankings.

The two teams have met each other on 9 previous occasions with Brazil holding the advantage of 6 wins to the Westfield Matildas 3. In their last encounter at the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup Brazil defeated the Westfield Matildas 1-0 in the group stage of the tournament.

Matildas Squad to face Brazil

Teigen Allen (Western Sydney Wanderers), Laura Alleway (Brisbane Roar), Mackenzie Arnold (Western Sydney Wanderers), Nicola Bolger (Sydney FC), Hannah Brewer (Newcastle Jets), Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar), Kim Carroll (Brisbane Roar), Stephanie Catley (Melbourne Victory), Brianna Davey (Melbourne Victory/LdB FC Malmo), Lisa De Vanna (Melbourne Victory/Boston Breakers), Rhali Dobson (Newcastle Jets), Casey Dumont (Sydney FC), Kathryn Gill (Perth Glory), Katrina-Lee Gorry (Brisbane Roar), Amy Harrison (Sydney FC), Michelle Heyman (Canberra United), Elise Kellond-Knight (Brisbane Roar), Alanna Kennedy (Western Sydney Wanderers), LeenaKhamis (Syndey FC), Clare Polkinghorne (Brisbane Roar), VedranaPopovic (Brisbane Roar), Hayley Raso (Brisbane Roar), Emily van Egmond (Western Sydney Wanderers).