W-League Grand Finalists Melbourne Victory dominate the LUCRF Super PFA W-League Team of the Season with five players featuring in the player-voted squad following the conclusion 2020/21 regular season. 

The PFA announced the 16-player squad ahead of Sunday’s blockbuster ‘Big Blue’ Grand Final at Jubilee Oval, with W-League players competing in the 2020/21 campaign voting on the composition of the squad. 

Comprised entirely of players from this season’s four W-League semi-finalists, Victory, Sydney FC, Brisbane Roar and Canberra United, the ‘Big V’ were the club best represented in the Team of the Season, which considers player performances across the W-League’s 12 regular season rounds. 

Talented midfielder Kyra Cooney-Cross was named captain after receiving the highest number of votes from her contemporaries, while Victory goalkeeper Gabriela Garton, defenders Angela Beard and Kayla Morrison and influential striker Lisa De Vanna all received votes to secure positions in the XI. 

Cooney-Cross also marked an impressive run of personal form, with PFA members voting the Australian youth international as the PFA’s W-League Player of the Month for March.  

“It’s overwhelming to be honest but I’m so happy to be recognised by the players I play with and against. I never set out to receive or expect praise for my performances – my focus is always to play a role for the team, but it’s humbling to receive recognition. 

“I’ve honestly just enjoyed my football so much this season and I’m thankful to Jeff and my teammates. It’s an exciting few days and we can’t wait to play in the Grand Final on Sunday.” 

PFA Executive Member and Brisbane Roar defender Kim Carroll praised the selected players and all W-League players who had produced a captivating 2020/21 campaign.

“The players have been outstanding this season and have helped to deliver one of the most entertaining campaigns in recent memory. This team embodies the incredible talent on display this season, from experienced veterans to emerging young talent, and it’s important to acknowledge their contributions during a season like no other.

“Players have had to make additional sacrifices and deal with uncertainty due to the COVID-19 pandemic, so it’s fitting that the season will conclude with a hugely anticipated Grand Final this Sunday.”

Victory’s semi-final hat-trick hero Melina Ayres earned a position on the substitutes bench, while coach Jeff Hopkins received the honour of being voted the Coach of the Season through the player voting process. 

Premiers Plate winners and Victory’s Grand Final opponents Sydney FC are represented in the starting XI through W-League mainstay Teresa Polias, who celebrated her 10th season with the Sky Blues with a trophy, five assists and helped her team secure a Grand Final berth with a stunning free-kick in the semi-final. 

Canberra United are represented by Michelle Heyman, with the former Matildas forward netting an impressive 10 goals and three assists in her 12 appearances.  

Despite bowing out against Victory in the semi-finals, Brisbane Roar maintained strong representation with Clare PolkinghorneJamilla RankinTameka Yallop and W-League golden boot Emily Gielnik, who scored 13 goals in 12 appearances, featuring.  

Goalkeeper Teagan Micah (Melbourne City FC), American defender Kendall Fletcher (Canberra United) and Sydney FC duo Clare Wheeler and Courtnee Vine complete the Team of the Season substitutes. 

The PFA W-League Team of the Season is proudly supported by PFA Major Partner LUCRF Super.