Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) today announced the players’ 2009-2010 A-League Team of the Season.
Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) today announced the players’ 2009-2010 A-League Team of the Season.

Melbourne Victory skipper Kevin Muscat leads a side that provides a rare insight into the style of football that A-League players value. In a 4-3-3 formation, the team is:
Muscat was delighted to be selected to lead the side.

“Being recognised by your fellow professionals in this way is a tremendous honour,” Muscat said. “When the peers you compete against every week show this respect for your efforts throughout the season it is very special,” he said.

The success of Saturday’s Grand Finalists is reflected in the voting with Kemp, Hernandez, Archie Thompson and Muscat joining Colosimo, Brosque and retiring Sydney FC skipper Steve Corica to fill 7 of the 16 squad places.

PFA Chief Executive Brendan Schwab was on hand to present PFA Team of the Season trophies to the 4 Victory players.

“The PFA A-League Team of the Season is one of the highest accolades that a professional footballer playing in Australia can receive,” said Schwab. “All A-League players were asked to vote on the players that do not play at their club and the result reflects the respect for the talent and professionalism of their peers.

“It’s an experienced side with a combined 272 full Caps in the squad. Every one of the squad has a senior Cap with the exception of Danny Vukovic, who has of course represented Australia with distinction at under age level.

“8 of the 10 A-League clubs have also been represented which indicates the evenness in the sides that were competing for finals football this season,” Schwab said.

Muscat joins Eugene Galekovic, Shane Smeltz and Archie Thompson in being named in the side for the second consecutive year whilst Strebre Delovski earned the players nomination as Referee of the Season for the second time.

All A-League players were asked to vote on a 16 player squad playing in a 4-3-3 formation including a goalkeeper, defender, two midfielders and a striker as the elite team’s substitutes. The 16 player squad reflects the game day playing squad structure for an A-League finals fixture.

The captain of the side is selected by the PFA Awards Committee which boasts a collection of some of the greatest former Australian football professionals, journalists and football analysts in the game.

The players also voted on the Coach of the Season with Sydney’s Vitezslav Lavicka succeeding Adelaide United’s Aurelio Vidmar as PFA A-League Coach of the Season for his role in guiding his side to the Premiership Plate.
For download a PDF of the PFA A-League Team of the Season, Click here