Wellington Phoenix’s Nathan Burns claims the Johnny Warren Medal, whilst Emily van Egmond wins the Julie Doolan Medal at the A-League and W-League Awards night.

Burns, won the Johnny Warren Medal receiving 577 votes from his playing peers, edging out ahead of Marcelo Carrusca (366 votes), Fahid Ben Khalfallah (307 votes), Kosta Barbarouses (277 votes) and Sergio Cirio (245 points).

Adelaide United’s James Jeggo capped an outstanding campaign by being named as the Young Footballer of the Year Award ahead of Brandon Borello (Brisbane Roar FC), Jamie Maclaren (Perth Glory), Terry Antonis (Sydney FC) and Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanderers.

PFA Life Member Kevin Muscat received the A-League Coach of the Year Award and Peter McGuinness from the Newcastle Jets was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year.

Sydney FC’s Austrian Marquee player, Marc Janko, took home the Nike Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorer for the A-League 2014/15 season with 16 goals and Perth Glory’s Kathryn Gill was the Westfield W-League 2014/15 Golden Boot winner courtesy of her 12 goals throughout the season.

Perth Glory’s Samantha Kerr picked up the W-League’s Players’ Player of the Year Award and Sydney FC’s Amy Harrison was named the Westfield W-League’s Young Player of the Year.

Eugene Galekovic collected the A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award for a record fourth time and Mackenzie Arnold from Perth Glory received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Adelaide United defender Tarek Elrich scored the A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his Round 27 solo effort against Melbourne City FC. Ashleigh Sykes from Canberra United scored the W-League Goal of the Year for her strike against Perth Glory in Round 12.

Wellington Phoenix picked up the A-League Fair Play Award for accruing the least number of yellow and red card points. Adelaide United won the Westfield W-League Fair Play Award with Brisbane Roar FC winning the Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award.

PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian hailed all the award winners describing them all as extremely deserving of the recognition.

“It has truly been an outstanding season in both the W-League and A-League, with the players continuing to drive the standard higher and higher,” said Vivian.

“Throughout the course of the season there have been moments of outstanding quality and these players have been instrumental in many of the most memorable.

“Finally I would to congratulate them all on the recognition they have received for their efforts, which is truly deserved.”




Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year): Nathan Burns – Wellington Phoenix

NAB Young Footballer of the Year: James Jeggo – Adelaide United

Goalkeeper of the Year: Eugene Galekovic – Adelaide United

Nike Golden Boot Award: Marc Janko – Sydney FC (16 Goals)

Goal of the Year: Tarek Elrich – Adelaide United (Round 27 v Melbourne City FC)

Coach of the Year: Kevin Muscat – Melbourne Victory

Fair Play Award: Wellington Phoenix

Referee of the Year: Jarred Gillett

National Youth League Player of the Year: George Blackwood (Sydney FC) and 
Liam Youlley (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)

National Youth League Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar FC