Four of Australia’s finest established and emerging footballers will be recognised by their peers for their achievements for club and country next Monday. 

Proudly supported by Austraffic, the PFA’s Women’s Footballer of the Year, Men’s Footballer of the Year and the Young Men’s Footballer of the Year (The Harry Kewell Medal) and the Young Women’s Footballer of the Year will be unveiled at the 2023 Oakberry Players’ Awards on Monday 17 July. 

The four prestigious player-voted awards consider the performances of any player playing in the A-Leagues as well as Australians playing overseas between the period of June 2022 to June 2023. The awards recognise, reward and celebrate Australia’s most outstanding players through peer recognition. 

Following a period of growth and excitement within the Australian game, 28 nominees – seven within each award category – have been revealed, with the winner to be selected by a PFA member vote. PFA Co-Chief Executive Kathryn Gill congratulated the nominees: 

“The past 12 months have delivered incredible moments of individual and collective brilliance by Australian footballers at club and international level.  

“From Jamie Maclaren’s goal-scoring exploits in the A-Leagues, Sam Kerr’s big moments for the Matildas and Chelsea, to Harry Souttar and McKenzie Arnold thwarting their opponents at critical moments for the green and gold, there have been some outstanding performances by our players. 

“Excitingly, our next generation of stars have burst onto the scene during this period, from Jordan Bos and Nestory Irankunda to Charlotte Grant and Daniella Galic, demonstrating the future is bright.

“These awards are always highly prized by our members, and we congratulate all of the nominees and look forward to unveiling the winners at our 2023 Oakberry PFA Players’ Awards.” 

The Austraffic Footballer of the Year Awards will be awarded at the 2023 Oakberry Players’ Awards, which will also include the Alex Tobin OAM Medal and the Beyond Bank Community Medal in Sydney on Monday 17 July 2023. The event will also commemorate 30 years of Professional Footballers Australia, with the organisation celebrating three decades of supporting the players and building the game in Australia in 2023.  

The Nominees 

PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year Nominees 

Previous Winners: Sam Kerr (2022, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2013), Ellie Carpenter (2021), Steph Catley (2020), Lydia Williams (2012, 2016), Katrina Gorry (2014), Elise Kellond-Knight (2011), Servet Uzunlar (2010) 

PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year Nominees:  

Previous Winners: Tom Rogic (2022), Jamie Maclaren (2021), Mat Ryan (2020, 2019, 2015), Aaron Mooy (2018, 2017, 2016), Mile Jedinak (2014), Robbie Kruse (2013), Brett Holman (2012), Matt McKay (2011), Mark Schwarzer (2010), Tim Cahill (2009)   

PFA Young Men’s Footballer of the Year (PFA Harry Kewell Medal) 

Previous Winners: Denis Genreau (2022), Connor Metcalfe (2021), Liberato Cacace (2020), Chris Ikonomidis (2019), Daniel Arzani (2018), Alex Gersbach (2017), Jamie Maclaren (2016), Mat Ryan (2015, 2014, 2012), Marco Rojas (2013), Robbie Kruse (2011), Mitch Langerak (2010), Nikita Rukavytska (2009) 

PFA Young Women’s Footballer of the Year

Previous Winners: Mary Fowler (2022), Ellie Carpenter (2021, 2020), Karly Roestbakken (2019), Alex Chidiac (2018, 2017) 

About the Austraffic Footballer of the Year Awards 

The Austraffic Footballer of the Year Awards have been awarded annually since 2009, when former Socceroo Tim Cahill won the inaugural PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year. The PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year was introduced the following season, which was won by Servet Uzunlar in 2010.  

About Austraffic  

Founded in 1983 (as Australasian Traffic Surveys), Austraffic has undertaken thousands of traffic, transport and pedestrian studies in all states and territories of Australia and New Zealand. Austraffic’s systems and expertise delivers quality data that meets the customer’s needs. Their offices are located throughout Australia, and their traffic engineering and information technology specialists assist customers with the design, analysis and presentation of surveys. For more information visit