Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) is pleased to announce the Shortlisted Goalkeepers and Defenders for the PFA A-League Team of the Decade.

With the final team set to be announced on Monday, April 27, at the Australian National Maritime Museum, the shortlisted players polled the highest following a vote of A-League players past and present.

The Goalkeepers shortlisted for the PFA A-League Team of the Decade:

  • Mat Ryan;
  • Eugene Galekovic;
  • Danny Vukovic; and
  • Michael Theo.

The Defenders shortlisted for the PFA A-League Team of the Decade:

  • Adama Traore;
  • Patrick Zwaanswiyk;
  • Andrew Durante;
  • Ivan Franjic;
  • Kevin Muscat;
  • Cassio;
  • Simon Colosimo;
  • Trent Sainsbury;
  • Tarek Elrich; and
  • Jade North.

PFA President Matt McKay hailed the impact of the shortlisted players and said all were worthy of selection in the team.

“Every single one of these players has made an enourmous impact on the A-League,” said McKay. “For their clubs they have been immense and have been instrumental in Championship and Premiership triumphs and have also starred in some of the league’s most memorable moments over the past 10 seasons.

“I would like to wish each and everyone one of them the very best and congratulate them on receiving this huge show of respect from their peers, something which means so much to each and every player.”

The Shortlisted Midfielders and Forwards for the PFA A-League Team of the Decade will be announced tomorrow at 10am.

The PFA A-League Team of the Decade is proudly supported by LUCRF Super, NSR Australia, Travellers Choice and the Australian National Maritime Museum.

For media enquiries contact PFA Media and Communications Manager Beau Busch on +61 (0) 432763485 or via