Having won 25 Championships between them, Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) is pleased to announce the PFA A-League Team of the Decade.

Announced at a Gala event tonight, Monday April 27, at the Australian National Maritime Museum, the team was unveiled in front of a host of current and former A-League stars.

Selected by the PFA’s A-League members past and present, players were asked to vote for their starting 11 in a 4-3-3 formation, five substitutes, a coach and referee of the decade.

As voted by the players, the PFA A-League Team of the Decade is:

Goalkeeper: Eugene Galekovic

Defenders: Cassio, Kevin Muscat (C), Patrick Zwaanswijk, Ivan Franjic

Midfielders: Matt McKay, Carlos Hernandez, Thomas Broich

Forwards: Archie Thompson, Besart Berisha, Shane Smeltz

Substitutes: Michael Theo (GK), Adama Traore, Mark Milligan, Steve Corica, Alessandro Del Piero

Coach: Ange Postecoglou

Referee: Strebre Delovski

With players having to have played at least two seasons in the A-League to be eligible for selection, the team was voted on by over 400 former and current A-League players and contains three Johnny Warren Medal winners.

As the highest vote getting former or current club captain, Kevin Muscat was named as the skipper of the PFA A-League Team of the Decade.

The two-time Championship and Premiership winning defender said it was a privilege to have been named in the players’ team.

“It’s an incredible honour to be selected in the PFA A-League Team of the Decade and I am extremely proud to also be named captain,” said Muscat. “To be nominated by my peers, both past and present, is extremely humbling and something that I take great pride in.

“I would like to thank Melbourne Victory for giving me the opportunity to return to Australia back in 2005. I have nothing but respect for everyone who has been associated with the club and I look forward to what the future holds. I would also like to thank my teammates for their support over the years. They were a privilege to play with and it’s great to see so many of them included in the PFA A-League Team of the Decade.

“Finally, I would like to congratulate all of the players who have been named in the Team of the Decade. Each of them has made a tremendous impact on the A-League and it’s fitting that their contributions are recognised in this way.”

PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian hailed the team and said all of them had made an enormous contribution to the success of the A-League.

“The aim of the PFA A-League Team of the Decade was to recognise the outstanding contribution the players have made to the competition and these players are all certainly worthy of the highest form of recognition,” said Vivian.

“To have won 25 A-League Championships between them highlights just how big their contribution has been, and the impact they have made.

“They, and their peers, have worked tirelessly over the past ten seasons to build a competition that offered very few guarantees into one that is now one of the biggest success stories of Australian sport for the past ten years.

“Finally I would like to acknowledge the support of our corporate partners LUCRF Super, NSR Australia, Travellers Choice, the Australian National Maritime Museum and our charity partner the Dylan Tombides Foundation, DT38.”

For media enquiries contact PFA Media and Communications Manager Beau Busch on +61 (0) 432763485 or beau@pfa.net.au.