With 72 goals between them the PFA A-League Team of the Season Forwards Shortlist has been announced today.

Finishing the season with 16 goals A-League Golden Boot winner Adam Taggart was named amongst the six-man shortlist. Equally adept from inside and outside the penalty area the Socceroo was responsible for almost half of the Jets total goals tally for the season.

Having been selected in the PFA A-League Team of the Season in 2011/2012 Brisbane Roar striker BesartBerisha is inline to make his second appearance after being shortlisted. The Albanian played a starring role for the Roar leading the line in their double winning season and finished the campaign with 13 goals.

The Roar striker is joined on the shortlist by Melbourne Heart’s David Williams. The former North Queensland Fury man racked up 12 goals for the season including a contender for goal of the season with a fine solo effort in round 17 against Sydney FC.

In his first season in the A-League Belgian import Stein Huysegems starred for Wellington Phoenix hitting the back of the net on 10 occasions. Forming a formidable understanding with fellow Team of the Season nominee Carlos Hernandez, Huysegems ability to link play and finish was invaluable for the Phoenix.

After signing on loan with the Melbourne Victory on the eve of the season Socceroo James Triosi lit-up the A-League. Given license to roam by coach Kevin Muscat the attacker’s ability to create and score has seen him earn a recall to the Socceroos.

In his second year in the A-League Fabio Ferriera was a constant headache for opposing defenders. Equally effective finishing and creating chances the Portuguese’s ability to beat defenders with ease was one of the regular highlights of Adelaide United’s displays throughout the season.

PFA A-League Team of the Season Forwards Shortlist:

  • BesartBerisha (Brisbane Roar)
  • David Williams (Melbourne Heart)
  • Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets)
  • Stein Huysegems (Wellington Phoenix)
  • James Troisi (Melbourne Victory)
  • Fabio Ferriera (Adelaide United)

The PFA A-League Team of the Season will be announced at the Alex Tobin OAM Medal Ceremony on Friday, May 23 at the Australian National Maritime Museum.