The recently crowned Johnny Warren and Joe Marston Medalist Thomas Broich headlines the PFA A-League Team of the Season Midfielders Shortlist announced today.

The German playmaker was included in the six man shortlist after a stellar 2013/2014 season, where he played a starring role in the Roar’s Premiership and Championship double.

Having been included in the PFA A-League Team of the Season twice previously Broich was joined on the shortlist by Roar teammate Luke Brattan.

Regarded by many as the best passer in the A-League Brattan was a key cog in the Roar’s success often dictating the game from his holding midfield role and chipping in with some spectacular long range goals.

After having previously been included in the Team of the Season on three occasions Carlos Hernandez is vying to equal Archie Thompson’s record of four appearances. His form for Wellington Phoenix throughout the season has seen him named in the preliminary World Cup squad for Costa Rica.

Having lit-up the competition with his outstanding technique and composure Marcelo Carrusca was also included in the six man shortlist. The Adelaide United man was an integral part of a Reds side that made it to the A-League Finals with the Argentine finishing the season with six goals.

Last season’s PFA A-League Team of the Season captain Mark Milligan was also chosen by the players with the Soceroos’ performances being recognised by his peers. The midfielder was also joined on the shortlist by Western Sydney Wanderers midfielder Aaron Mooy. Calm in possession and with an excellent passing range the 23-year-old was a huge contributor to the Wanderers success.

The PFA A-League Team of the Season Midfielders Shortlist:

  • Luke Brattan (Brisbane Roar)
  • Marcelo Carrusca (Adelaide United)
  • Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar)
  • Carlos Hernandez (Wellington Phoenix)
  • Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory)
  • Aaron Mooy (Western Sydney Wanderers)

The PFA A-League Team of the Season will be announced at the Alex Tobin OAM Medal ceremony on Friday, May 23 at the Australian National Maritime Museum.