Professional Footballers Australia (the PFA) has crowned Paul Okon as Alex Tobin OAM Medallist, recognised the achievements of five players and commemorated 25 years of contribution to the professional game in Australia at its 25 Anniversary Gala Dinner.

  • Former Socceroo Paul Okon crowned Alex Tobin OAM Medallist at annual PFA Awards evening held at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on Tuesday evening
  • Socceroos midfielder Aaron Mooy and Matildas striker Sam Kerr headlined award winners as PFA Men’s and Women’s Footballers of the Year, respectively
  • Alex Chidiac named Young Women’s Footballer of the Year and Daniel Arzani awarded the PFA Harry Kewell Medal
  • Newcastle Jets captain and PFA Executive Member Nigel Boogaard awarded PFA’s Community Medal
  • PFA, the longest established stakeholder in the professional game in Australia, celebrated 25 years of years of contribution during the 25 Anniversary Gala Dinner

Proudly supported by LUCRF Super, the annual PFA Awards were held during a special 25 Anniversary Gala Dinner at ANZ Stadium, designed to honour the achievements of players and acknowledge the contribution of the longest established stakeholder in the professional game in Australia.

As announced in June, Okon joins Joe Marston, Johnny Warren, Craig Johnston, Mark Viduka, Frank Farina, Mark Schwarzer, Harry Kewell and Cheryl Salisbury as a Tobin Medal recipient.

The Tobin Medal was inaugurated in 2008 to recognise Australian footballers that have demonstrated excellence, leadership, service and commitment to both the game and their fellow players. Okon said he was honoured to have been presented the PFA’s highest accolade;

“When you set out to play football it is never about winning individual awards or honours, but some of the past winners have been idols of mine as well as teammates so to be held in that same regard alongside them is a huge honour. It’s always special when the award is selected by players, so I’m very proud to receive this distinguished award.”


As a crucial contributor to Huddersfield Town’s English Premier League survival, and a key figure during the Socceroos’ 2018 qualification and FIFA World Cup campaigns, Aaron Mooy secured a record third consecutive Men’s Footballer of the Year award at the event.

Mooy, who featured in all three of the Socceroos’ group stage matches at the World Cup, said he was delighted to secure a third award voted by his peers. Mooy has now won the award in 2016, 2017 and 2018.

“To have been recognised by my peers and to have been selected among such high calibre candidates is very humbling. It’s a huge honour and one that I’m very proud of.”

Following a superb 12 months with the Matildas, 2018 Young Australian of the Year, 2017 AFC Women’s Player of the Year and 2017/18 Julie Dolan Medallist, Sam Kerr, secured a second consecutive PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year award.

Kerr was outstanding for the Matildas during the inaugural Tournament of Nations in July last year, where her goal-scoring exploits helped steer her to the golden boot award and the Matildas to victory. Kerr has now won the PFA award on three occasions and becomes the first female player to win the accolade twice in a row.

“It’s a massive privilege to win this award for a second year. It’s been a huge year for women’s football and to have been able to contribute to that has been not only exciting but immensely rewarding. Hopefully our success continues in the future as the women’s game goes from strength to strength.”

After a breakout A-League campaign with Melbourne City FC and selection in the Socceroos FIFA World Cup squad, Daniel Arzani was presented with the PFA Harry Kewell Medal.

Celebrating the achievements of an under 23 footballer playing in the A-League or an Australian based overseas, Arzani, who at 19 was the youngest representative at this year’s World Cup in Russia, said he was honoured.

“I’m extremely grateful and flattered to be named PFA Harry Kewell Medallist for 2018. To be voted by fellow players to win an award named after one of Australia’s most iconic players is very special and I’m honoured to be included on a list with such great past winners.”

Emerging female talent Alex Chidiac was voted by the players as the Young Women’s Footballer of the Year for a second consecutive season, having won the inaugural award in 2017. The Adelaide United midfielder continued to register impressive performance in the W-League and made two appearances during the 2017 Algarve Cup for the Matildas, scoring on her full debut.

“Winning Young Footballer of the Year for the second time is truly an honour. To be voted by my team-mates and opponents is very special. It’s been a very memorable last 12 months for me and I hope to keep learning, progressing and developing as a player at an exciting time for women’s football.”

Newcastle Jets captain and PFA Executive Member Nigel Boogaard was awarded the PFA Community Medal. The Jets skipper supported Hunter Life Education’s Ocsober campaign to raise money for vital drug and alcohol education for young people.