Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2014/15 PFA Footballer of the Year.

Having previously been won by the likes of Mark Schwarzer, Mile Jedinak and Robbie Kruse, the nine nominees were selected by an awards committee made up of Socceroos greats and leading figures in the Australian football media.

The nominees for the 2014/15 PFA Footballer of the Year award are:

>> Tim Cahill;

>> Mark Milligan;

>> Fahid Ben Khalfallah;

>> Trent Sainsbury;

>> Mat Ryan;

>> Marc Janko;

>> Nathan Burns;

>> Alex Wilkinson; and

>> Massimo Luongo

With the winner to be determined by a vote of all of the PFA’s male members, PFA President Matt McKay said the nominees had all enjoyed stellar 2014/15 seasons.

“Last season saw the nation become champions of Asia for club and country, the A-League continued to rise in quality and our members abroad excelled in some of the toughest leagues in the world,” said McKay.

“With this in mind it would have been an extremely difficult task for the awards committee to come up with the nominees.

“The nine nominees were instrumental in what was a fantastic year for the game and highlight the quality of players playing in Australia and the country’s footballers plying their trade abroad.”

Proudly supported by PFA Major Partner LUCRF Super and Travellers Choice, PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian said the nominees were deserving of this recognition.

“On behalf of all our members I would like to congratulate the nominees on this well deserved honour,” said Vivian.

“Some of the country’s finest ever players have won the PFA Footballer of the Year award and it is hugely encouraging to see another crop of outstanding footballers vying to be the 2014/15 recipient.”