Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) is pleased to announce the appointment of Nigel Boogaard, Kim Carroll and Gabe Marzano to the PFA Executive Committee.

PFA Chairman Craig Foster made the announcement today and also confirmed that Adrian Leijer was stepping down having served on the Executive Committee since 2011.

Highly respected by his peers, Boogaard joins the Executive after excelling in the role of club delegate at both Adelaide United and his current club Newcastle Jets.

Carroll’s appointment follows her outstanding contribution to her peers on the PFA Matildas Committee, where she was instrumental in securing the historic ‘whole of game’ collective bargaining agreement (CBA).

Having played a leading role in the recent success of Perth Glory and Brisbane Roar in the W-League, Marzano, the Australian Army’s first qualified female work diver, brings a wealth of leadership experience to the Executive.

Foster paid tribute to the outgoing Leijer and said the new appointments were another boost for the players’ association following the recent completion of the extensive PFA Review.

“On behalf of all PFA Members I would like thank Adrian for his enormous contribution to his fellows professionals and the game,” said Foster. “He has been instrumental in a number of the PFA’s key achievements, none more so than the ‘whole of game’ CBA. I wish Adrian and his family all the very best for the future.

“Nigel, Kim and Gabe are outstanding people and leaders and we are delighted that they have accepted the offer to join the Executive. Many of Australian football’s most respected figures such as Tim Cahill, Alex Tobin and Kathryn Gill have served on the Executive Committee and I have no doubt that they will build on the proud legacy of those that have come before them.

“These appointments align with the recommendations contained in the PFA Review and will ensure the players’ association continues to be forefront of driving progress for the game.”

In accordance with the PFA Rules, Boogaard, Marzano and Carroll will fill casual vacancies on the Executive and will be up for re-election in November at the Annual General Meeting.