The outstanding form of Socceroos based at home and abroad is recognised as Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) announces the nominees for the PFA Footballer of the Year for the first half of the 2013/2014 season (August-December 2013).

Having previously been won by the likes of Socceroos Brett Holman (2012) and Mark Schwarzer (2010) the PFA Footballer of Year honours outstanding performance in the A-League or Australian based overseas.

Selected by the PFA Awards committee, which is made up former Socceroos, NSL greats and leading figures in the Australian football media, the final shortlist will be reviewed and finalised after the World Cup.

The winner will then be determined through a vote from over 250 fellow professionals playing in the A-League and leagues all over the world.

Having starred in the Bundesliga with Bayer Leverkusen and made his UEFA Champions League debut, last season’s PFA Footballer of the Year Robbie Kruse’s  form, before tearing his ACL, saw him named amongst the nominees.

His fellow Champions League debutant James Holland’s stellar work in midfield for Austrian Champions, Austria Wien, saw him included on the shortlist, where he was joined by fellow Socceroos Mark Milligan, Mat Ryan, Tim Cahill and Mile Jedinak.

The New York Red Bulls star Cahill will be vying to become the first player to win the award twice after being crowned PFA Footballer of the Year in 2009, whilst Melbourne Victory captain Milligan will be attempting to become the second A-League based player to win the award after Matt McKay (2011).

Having also been named amongst the nominees for the PFA Harry Kewell Medal, Socceroos and Club Brugge shot stopper Ryan is in the running to become the first footballer to win both awards.

After finishing second in the voting to Kruse last season, the form of Jedinak in the English Premier League, where he has starred as captain for Crystal Palace, has also been recognised with the Socceroos midfielder once again in the running for the award.

PFA President Simon Colosimo said the nominees highlighted the quality of Australian footballers.

“This award has consistently recognised footballers playing at the top of their game and once again this is the case with these nominees,” said Colosimo.

“All of them should be extremely proud of their achievements with club and country in the first half of the season and the PFA will continue to monitor their progress over the second half of the season and at the World Cup.”

Colosimo paid a special mention to Kruse, whose injury will see him miss the remainder of the Bundesliga season and the World Cup.

“Robbie was in outstanding form for his club and would have been an extremely important member of the Socceroos at the World Cup.

“It was also highly likely that he would have been a strong chance of becoming the first footballer to win the PFA Footballer of the Year for the second time running.

“We wish him well for his recovery.”

The final nominees for the PFA Footballer of the Year will be announced after the World Cup.

PFA Footballer of the Year Nominees (in alphabetical order)

  • Tim Cahill
  • James Holland
  • Mile Jedinak
  • Robbie Kruse
  • Mark Milligan
  • Mat Ryan

Previous PFA Footballer of the Year Winner