Professional Footballers Australia has announced its nominees for the PFA Footballer of the Year and PFA Harry Kewell Medal for the first half of the 2011/2012 season (August-December 2011).

The nominees, selected by the PFA Awards Committee, are chosen from players currently playing in the A-League and Australian players based overseas.

While Australia’s overseas based Socceroos dominate the nominations for the senior Award, almost all nominees for the PFA Harry Kewell Medal (for the best footballer under the age of 23) are playing regularly for their clubs in the A-League.

The Nominees (alphabetical order):

PFA Footballer of the Year

• Thomas Broich, Brisbane Roar
• Alex Brosque, Shimizu S-Pulse (Japan)
• Brett Holman, AZ Akmaar (Netherlands)
• Josh Kennedy, Nagoya Grampus (Japan)
• Luke Wilkshire, Dynamo Moscow (Russia)
• Patrick Zwaanswijk, Central Coast Mariners

PFA Harry Kewell Medal

• Aziz Behich, Melbourne Heart
• James Brown, Gold Coast United
 Luke Devere, Gyeongnam FC (Korea)
• Mate Dugandzic, Melbourne Heart
• Mitch Nichols, Brisbane Roar
• Matt Ryan, Central Coast Mariners

The large number of nominees from the A-League is testament not only to the A-League’s quality this season but also demonstrates its increasing value for young players to develop and establish their careers as professionals.

Olyroos Mate Dugandzic, Matt Ryan, Aziz Behich, James Brown and Mitch Nichols have all been nominated for the PFA Harry Kewell Medal, along with former Brisbane Roar defender Luke Devere, now of Gyeongnan FC in Korea.

The A-League teams that enjoyed some of the best form in the first half of the season, Brisbane Roar, Central Coast Mariners and Melbourne Heart, each have two nominees, with Gold Coast United the other A-League team represented through James Brown.

The final list of nominees for both the PFA Footballer of the Year and PFA Harry Kewell Medal is made at the end of the season by the PFA Awards Committee and the winners are determined through a vote of their fellow professionals.