Professional Footballers Australia is delighted to announce the winners of the 2012/2013 PFA Footballer of the Year, PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year and PFA Harry Kewell Medal.
After an outstanding campaign in the Bundesliga and with the Socceroos Robbie Kruse was named as the PFA Footballer of the Year, Matildas goal scoring ace Sam Kerr was voted as the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year and last season’s A-League standout Marco Rojas was awarded the PFA Harry Kewell Medal.

Announced at the 2013 Australian Football Awards on Wednesday evening in Sydney the winning trio were chosen by their peers after excelling for club and country in the 2012/2013 season.

Having previously been won by the likes of Tim Cahill (2009), Mark Schwarzer (2010), Matt McKay (2011) and Brett Holman (2012) the 2013 PFA Footballer of the Year Robbie Kruse is the youngest ever winner of the prestigious award.

After being awarded the PFA Harry Kewell Medal in 2011 Kruse is also the first footballer to have both awards.

Beating off stiff competition from second place Mile Jedinak and third place Daniel McBreen the 25-year-old enjoyed a brilliant 12 months in the Bundesliga starring for Fortuna Dusseldorf before earning a transfer to Champions League club Bayer Leverkusen.

After starring for Grand Final winners Sydney FC last season Samantha Kerr was named as the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year.

The attacker’s outstanding form for the Sky Blues and the Matildas saw her finish ahead of Brianna Davey and Stephanie Catley, who were voted joint second place for the award by their peers

Kerr is the fourth recipient of the award after Servet Uzunlar (2010), Elise Kellond-Knight (2011) and Lydia Williams (2012).

The dazzling 2012/2013 season of the former Melbourne Victory attacker Marco Rojas saw him awarded the PFA Harry Kewell Medal, as the most outstanding footballer under 23 from among those playing in the A-League and young Australian players based overseas.

The Kiwi lit-up the A-League last term catching the eye of clubs all over the world before eventually signing with Bundesliga club VfB Stuttgart.

The 22-year-old finished ahead of the second place Tom Rogic and third place Trent Sainsbury to follow in the footsteps of previous winners Nikita Rukavytsya (2009), Mitch Langerak (2010), Robbie Kruse (2011) and Matt Ryan (2012).

PFA President Simon Colosimo said the winners should take great pride in being voted as the best in their respective categories by their peers.

“Throughout the world this is the most prestigious award a professional footballer can win.

“This year has once again seen the bar set extremely high and the winners are all of the highest quality.

“It is nice to see three new faces recognised and it highlights the confidence fellow professionals have in the younger generation.”