Mat Ryan is vying to make history after the Socceroos keeper was today announced by Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) as one of six nominees for the PFA Harry Kewell Medal.

Having won the award in 2012 and 2014, the former Central Coast Mariners shot stopper is in contention to become the first player to win the award back-to-back.

The award recognises the outstanding achievement of an under 23 footballer plying their trade in the A-League or an Australian based overseas, with nominees selected by an awards committee made up of Socceroos greats and leading figures in the Australian football media.

The 2014/15 nominees for the PFA Harry Kewell Medal are:

>> Mat Ryan;

>> Massimo Luongo;

>> Jimmy Jeggo;

>> Bernie Ibini;

>> Trent Sainsbury; and

>> Awer Mabil.

With the winner set to be announced next week, following a vote of all of the PFA’s male members, PFA President Matt McKay said the six nominees highlighted how bright the future is for the game.

“The 2014/15 season saw a host of exciting young players emerge and enhance their reputations, and none more so than the nominees,” said McKay.

“Bernie, Awer and Jimmy excelled in the A-League and Mat, Trent and Massimo played huge roles in the Asian Cup triumph.

“Previous winners have set the bar very high and this crop of players ensures that this will once again be the case, demonstrating the outstanding quality of players we continue to produce.”

PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian paid tribute to the nominees.

“The 2014/15 season was an historic one for the game and highlighted the talent we have playing both in the A-League and for the Socceroos,” said Vivian.

“All six nominees have further enhanced the reputations of Australian footballers and are all extremely worthy of this recognition.”


The PFA awards are supported by PFA Major Partner LUCRF Super and Travellers Choice.