Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) announces the nominees for the PFA Harry Kewell Medal for the first half of the 2013/2014 season (August-December 2013).

Socceroo Mat Ryan is vying to become the first footballer to win the PFA Harry Kewell Medal for the second time after the goalkeeper was named amongst the nominees for the prestigious award.

Recognising outstanding performance by an under 23 footballer playing in the A-League or Australian based overseas, Ryan, who won the award in 2012, was one of six players shortlisted by the PFA after a stellar first half of this season.

The Club Brugge shot stopper was joined by fellow Socceroos Matthew Leckie (FSV Frankfurt), Jason Davidson (Heracles Almelo) and Tommy Oar (Utrecht) along with Newcastle Jets goal scoring ace Adam Taggart and Preston North End defender Bailey Wright.

Having been won by Marco Rojas last season the nominees were selected by the PFA Awards Committee, which is made up of former NSL greats, Socceroos and leading figures in the Australian football media.

The final shortlist of nominees will be reviewed and finalised after the 2014 World Cup with the winner then determined through a vote from over 250 fellow professionals playing in the A-League and various leagues all over the world.

Socceroo legend Harry Kewell, who the award is named in honour of, said it provided another incentive for young players to aspire to excel at football’s highest levels.

“Having your efforts recognised by your peers gives these awards enormous status and importance with both the fans and the players.

“The future of Australian football depends on the continued development of outstanding young players.

“Already we have seen previous winners such as Robbie Kruse (2011), Mitch Langerak (2010) and Nikita Rukavytsya (2009), go on and be successful in Europe and become important members of Socceroos.

“All of the nominees have the ability to go on and emulate their success.”

The final nominees for the Harry Kewell Medal will be announced after the World Cup.

PFA Harry Kewell Medal Nominees (in alphabetical order)

  • Jason Davidson
  • Mathew Leckie
  • Tommy Oar
  • Mat Ryan
  • Adam Taggart
  • Bailey Wright

Previous PFA Harry Kewell Medal Winners

  • Nikita Rukavytsya (2009)
  • Mitch Langerak (2010)
  • Robbie Kruse (2011)
  • Mathew Ryan (2012)
  • Marco Rojas (2013)

The nominees for the first half of the 2013/2014 season for the PFA Footballer of the Year will be announced tomorrow.