Professional Footballers Australia (the PFA) held its 2018 Annual General Meeting (AGM) via video and teleconference from Melbourne on Wednesday. 

With members attending in person or via proxy, the PFA’s Executive Committee moved to elevate Chairman Brendan Schwab to PFA Champion, while Executive members Mile Jedinak, President Alex Wilkinson and Lydia Williams were re-elected for a further three years. Elise Kellond-Knight move to fill the casual vacancy on the Executive left by Gabe Mazano was ratified.

Chief Executive John Didulica also provided a progress report to the PFA membership, detailing the organisation’s key achievements in the past 12 months, including;

  • Record membership across Socceroos, Matildas, A-League and W-League with a total of 589 members – representing a 20 per cent increase on the previous year;
  • Recovery of over $5.3m in outstanding wages and damages for Australian players across the world;
  • 215 Education Grants awarded (equating to over $260,000) to support players’ educational and vocational pursuits outside of football;
  • The delivery of over 500 individual medical and counselling consults through the PFA’s Player Development and Wellbeing Programs;
  • A record 78% of players undertaking structured learning or skill acquisition away from football;
  • An effective role in building the new governance framework within Australian football; and
  • The ongoing financial robustness of the PFA into its 25thyear of operation.

Click here to view or download the 2018 PFA Annual Report

“To have an Executive that features the likes of Alex Wilkinson, Mile Jedinak and Elise Kellond-Knight speaks volumes to the capacity of the PFA and the commitment of its members,” said Chief Executive John Didulica.

“I am very proud of the way the PFA has integrated an entire generation of women footballers into our ranks over the past two years; not only as full members, but at all levels of governance, from member to delegate to Executive Member and finally with the elevation of Kate Gill to the position of Deputy Chief Executive.

“The PFA is powerfully positioned on all fronts to play a critical role in the sport over the next 12 months and beyond.”

In the organisation’s 25thyear, PFA Chairman Brendan Schwab was recognised for his enduring commitment to the players, with the PFA Executive Committee nominating him to become the fourth PFA Champion, alongside Alex Tobin OAM, Kimon Taliadoros and Craig Foster. 

The PFA Champion designation is awarded to a life Member who the players regard as having shaped the future wellbeing of footballers and the game through exceptional leadership and commitment.

Schwab, the Executive Director of the World Players Association – the global union of players and athletes across professional sport – has held various transformational roles with the PFA, having been involved with the organisation during its establishment in 1993 and for over two decades since as CEO, Chairman and Special Counsel.

PFA President Alex Wilkinson commented on the significant contribution Schwab had played in advocating for the players.

“Brendan is synonymous with the work of the PFA and truly champions the values of the organisation. He has always advocated for the players and put their interests at the forefront of the game. Deservedly, Brendan was elevated to PFA Champion by the Committee and we thank Brendan for his continued and tireless commitment to the players.” 

Detailed materials of the meeting including the PFA’s financial report for the year ended 30 June 2018 are available at

Executive Committee: Brendan Schwab (Chairman), John Didulica (CEO), Alex Wilkinson (President), Lydia Williams, Mile Jedinak, Nigel Boogaard, Elise Kellond-Knight, Nikolai Topor-Stanley, Kim Carroll, Glen Moss, Francis Awaritefe