Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) is pleased to announce that applications for the PFA scholarships are now open.

Recognising PFA members who demonstrate excellence off the pitch the scholarships aim to assist players in continuing their development.

Named in honour of PFA Life Members and Champions, the Kimon Taliadoros Scholarships and Craig Foster Media Scholarship were established in 2008 and 2011 respectively, with each winner being awarded $5,000.

Having been previously been won by the likes of Zac Anderson, Adam D’Apuzzo and Tim Brown the Kimon Taliadoros Scholarships are awarded annually to two players who demonstrate excellence in areas of education, business or community involvement.  One scholarship will recognise excellent achievement by a young player (under 23) still forging and building his career as a professional footballer.  The second will recognise achievement by a player in preparing for life after football as his playing career approaches its end.

The Craig Foster Media Scholarship is awrded to an Australian footballer with the ambition to forge a career in the football media on completion of their playing career. The award has previously been won by the likes of Grant Brebner and Jamie Harnwell.