Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2020 PFA Player Awards, which celebrate the significant contribution of the game’s established and emerging players.

In an extraordinary year where domestic and international football were disrupted by a pandemic, an all-star line-up of players have been nominated for the peer-voted awards.

The accolades recognise, reward and celebrate the most outstanding players in Australia’s domestic competitions and Australians playing overseas each season, based on the principle of peer recognition.

Two-time winner of the PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year Mat Ryan and three-time winner Aaron Mooy lead the nominations for the men’s top accolade, alongside Suwon Bluewings and Socceroos striker Adam Taggart, who secured the K-League’s Golden Boot last season, and FC Midtjylland’s Awer Mabil.

FA Women’s Super League and Matildas trio Steph CatleyEmily Van Egmond and four-time winner Sam Kerr have been nominated for the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year.

The Harry Kewell Medal nominees – which recognises the outstanding achievement of an under-23 footballer playing in the A-League or an overseas-based Australian – are Liberato CacaceCameron Devlin and Riley McGree.

The PFA Women’s Young Footballer of the Year nominees are 2019 winner Karly Roestbakken, Olympique Lyon’s Ellie Carpenter and Western Sydney Wanderers’ Kyra Cooney-Cross.

PFA President Alex Wilkinson congratulated the nominees and paid tribute to their performances last season.

“The list of nominees indicates the calibre of players we have currently playing at the elite level here and in some of the world’s best leagues,” Wilkinson said.

“In a season in which players and clubs have been faced with unprecedented challenges, our members have once again illustrated remarkable resilience and courage and continued to excel on and off the pitch.”

Proudly supported by LUCRF Super, the nominees are chosen by the PFA Awards committee comprising of former players and leading figures in the Australia football media. The winners will be revealed following a PFA Member vote.