Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2014/15 PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year award.

Taking into account the Matildas historic World Cup campaign, the six nominees received the most votes following a vote put directly to all of the PFA’s female members.

Having previously been won by the likes of Katrina Gorry, Sam Kerr and Servet Uzulnar, the winner will be awarded a medal featuring the image of Matildas legend Cheryl Salisbury.


The 2014/15 PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year Nominees:

>> Elise Kellond-Knight

>> Emily van Egmond

>> Laura Alleway

>> Caitlin Foord

>> Lydia Williams

>> Sam Kerr


Proudly supported by PFA Major Corporate Partner LUCRF Super and Travellers Choice, the winner is set be announced next week.

PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian paid tribute to the nominees and said they further highlighted the outstanding quality of our elite female footballers.

“At the World Cup the Matildas showed the world what they are capable of,” Vivian said.

“ All six of the nominees were instrumental in the Matildas becoming the country’s first team to win a knock-out stages match at the World Cup and are truly deserving of this recognition.”

PFA President Matt McKay said the outstanding performances of the nominees would have made it an extremely tough task for the players to select a winner.

“On behalf of all our members I would like to congratulate the six nominees,” said McKay. “The recognition of your peers is the highest honour you can receive as a player and all six should be proud of what they achieved over the course of the 2014/15 season.”


The PFA Awards are supported by Major Corporate Partner LUCRF Super and Travellers Choice.