The inaugural PFA A-League Team of the Season was announced in A-League Grand Final week, withinspirational Queensland Roar and Socceroo defender Craig Moore selected as the captain of the side.

The team is a unique peer selected honour and provides a rare insight into the style of football valued by A-League players. Pace, creativity and attacking flair feature heavily in a 4-3-3 formation that includes some of the biggest names in the Australian game.

Recently capped Socceroo and Adelaide United custodian Eugene Galekovic is the players’ overwhelming choice as goalkeeper. The attacking talents of A-League Rising Star Scott Jamieson and Newcastle Jet TarekElrich have been recognised in a quality back four that also includes skipper Moore and Adelaide United colossus SasaOgnenovski.

All three midfielders are capable of some football magic from the team’s engine room as Travis Dodd is selected alongside Queensland Roar’s Charlie Miller and former Central Coast Mariner Mile Jedinak.

The starting XI is completed with a front three that exudes pace, creativity and goal scoring ability with Ivorian Eugene Dadi, Socceroo Archie Thompson and Johnny Warren Medalist Shane Smeltz combing to provide the team’s awesome collective fire power.

Melbourne Victory trio Kevin Muscat, Billy Celeski, Michael Theoklitos, Perth’s Nikita Rukavytsya and Adelaide’s Paul Reid give the squad phenomenal depth from the substitutes’ bench. The 16 player squad reflects the game day playing squad structure for an A-League finals fixture.

Craig Moore was delighted with his selection to skipper the team.

“A-League players have chosen this side and that makes this award a great honour,” he commented. “I returned to Australia determined to perform and give something back to the game in this country and selection in the side is a nice indication that this has been a success.”

Chief Executive Brendan Schwab congratulated all members of the PFA’s first Team of the Year.

“Based on peer recognition, the PFA A-League Team of the Year is sure to become one of the highest accolades that a professional footballer can receive in Australia,” he said on the announcement of the team. “All A-League players were asked to vote on the players that do not play for their club. Selection reflects the respect in which a player’s footballing talent, professionalism and camaraderie are held by his fellow professionals.”

Schwab also paid tribute to Craig Moore, the team’s inaugural Captain.

“Craig is the model professional footballer who his fellow professionals turn to for leadership. His appointment as the skipper is a fitting acknowledgement for a remarkable season in which he has overcome personal adversity to set the example for both club and country.”

The players also voted on the Coach of the Year and the Referee of the Year. Adelaide United’s Aurelio Vidmar was recognised as A-League Coach of the Year for his role in steering Adelaide to the brink of Asian Champions League supremacy and StrebreDelovski was the players’ choice as Referee of the Year.

For the Team of the Season in Formation, please click here: Team of the Season in Formation

For the Team of the Season Profiles, please click here: Team of the Season Profiles

PFA 2008/2009 A-League Team of the Season

Goalkeeper: Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United);
Defenders: TarekElrich (Newcastle Jets), Craig Moore (Queensland Roar), SasaOgnenovski(Adelaide United), Scott Jamieson (Adelaide United);
Midfielders: Travis Dodd (Adelaide United), Mile Jedinak (Central Coast Mariners), Charlie Miller (Queensland Roar);
Forwards: Shane Smeltz (Wellington Phoenix), Eugene Dadi (Perth Glory), Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory);
Substitutes: Michael Theoklitos (Melbourne Victory), Kevin Muscat (Melbourne Victory), Paul Reid (Adelaide United), Billy Celeski (Melbourne Victory), Nikita Rukavytsya (Perth Glory).

Coach of the Year: Aurelio Vidmar (Adelaide United)

Referee of the Year: StrebreDelovski