Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) today announced that A-League players have voted Sydney FC’s Vitezslav Lavicka as the best coach in season 2009/2010.
Sydney FC Captain Steve Corica, PFA President Simon Colosimo and Chief Executive Brendan Schwab presented Lavicka with his award at the Sydney Football Stadium today.

Schwab paid tribute to the Czech national’s role in the transformation of Sydney FC this season.

“Sydney FC’s Premiership success is testament to Vitezslav’s coaching ability,” Schwab said. “The players have clearly recognised his efforts in moulding a side that finished 5th in 2008/2009 into this season’s Premiers.”

“Vitezslav’s style of coaching has added a new dimension to the role in Australian football. The PFA looks forward to his systematic approach continuing to positively influence the education and development of players throughout the A-League.”

Colosimo spoke of Lavicka’s role in the transformation of the club’s on-field fortunes.

“Vitezslav has brought a different level of organisation, professionalism and culture to Sydney FC since he joined the club,” he said. “Our players understand their roles in the team and have confidence in the system we play. This confidence has driven a new level of unity amongst the playing group and staff. Obviously PFA members have recognised this when competing against us this year.”

Lavicka expressed his delight on receiving the award.

“The fact that this award is voted on by A-League players makes it something that is very special for me,” Lavicka said. “The respect that they have shown by voting for me is something that I value greatly. I have enjoyed coaching in Australia and would like to thank everyone for the way that they have responded to my style this season.”


The PFA A-League Coach of the Year is voted on by A-League players. When voting for the PFA A-League Team of the Season, players cast a single vote for the coach they consider to be the A-League’s best and cannot vote for the coach of their club.

The top 3 vote getters in 2009/2010 were:
Vitezslav Lavicka, Sydney FC, 66 votes
Ricki Herbert, Wellington Phoenix, 30 votes
Ernie Merrick, Melbourne Victory, 29 votes

Vitezslav’s award sees him succeed Adelaide United’s Aurelio Vidmar, who was voted as the inaugural PFA A-League Coach of the Season in 2008/2009.

Lavicka previously won consecutive Coach of the Year Awards in the Czech Republic in 2006 and 2007, following his success with Slovan Leberec in the Gambrinus Liga, including the title in 2005/2006.

The PFA will announce the players’ A-League Team of the Season in Grand Final week.