Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) will honour the outstanding achievements of Mark Schwarzer after announcing the Socceroo legend will receive the prestigious PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal at a gala event to be held at the Australian Maritime Museum on Friday May 23.

Having only previously been won by Australian Football Legends Frank Farina (2012), Mark Viduka (2011), Craig Johnston (2009), Joe Marston (2008) and the late Johnny Warren (2008) the Alex Tobin Medal is the PFA’s highest honour.

First awarded in 2008 the Tobin Medal was established to recognise Australian footballers that have demonstrated leadership, achievement as a player, commitment to their fellow professionals and service and dedication to the game.

PFA President Simon Colosimo said it was fitting that Schwarzer would now take his rightful place alongside the likes of Marston and Warren as Tobin Medalists.

“Mark’s achievements will ensure that he will rightly be regarded as one Australia’s finest ever footballers,” said Colosimo.

“The image of Mark celebrating after saving two penalties against Uruguay in the 2005 World Cup Qualifier is one of Australian football’s most iconic images but his contribution to went far beyond this.

“His achievements since emerging into the old NSL with Marconi as a fresh faced 19-year-old are many and include: PFA Footballer of Year, Football Federation Australia (FFA) Footballer of the Year, 109 Socceroos Caps, appearances at two World Cups and an Order of Australia Medal.

“Mark has been an inspiration to countless footballers across the country and shown what is possible if you work tirelessly and commit whole heartedly to the game.”

PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian said Schwarzer was the players’ unanimous choice as the Tobin Medalist for 2014.

“The contribution of Mark and his fellow Tobin Medalists is perhaps best illustrated in the growing popularity and success of the game, without their efforts it would have been impossible for the sport to progress as it has.

“Mark has been an outstanding ambassador for our game both at home and on the world stage and has consistently illustrated his commitment to the betterment of the game and his fellow professionals.”

As well as awarding the Alex Tobin OAM Medal the gala event will also feature the announcement of the 2013/2014 PFA A-League Team of the Season.

The recipients of the PFA KimonTaliadoros Scholarships and the PFA Craig Foster Media Scholarship will also be honoured at the event.

“Being voted by your peers into the team of the season is one of the highest honours you can receive as a player and the event will provide the ideal opportunity to recognise this achievement,” said Vivian

“Equally important will be the chance to celebrate the efforts of the players off the pitch in the fields of education, business and the media, where there are countless PFA members making significant contributions.”

Mark Schwarzer Career Statistics

Marconi Stallions 1990-1994, 58 appearances
Dynamo Dreseden 1994-1995, 2 appearances
Kaiserslautern 1995-1996, 4 appearances
Bradford 1996-1997, 16 appearances
Middlesbrough 1997-2008, 446 appearances
Fulham 2008-2013, 220 appearances
Chelsea 2013- present, 6 appearances

Socceroos 1993- 2013, 109 appearances
Australia u/20 1990-1991, 8 appearances
Australia U/17 1989, 6 appearances

Individual honours
PFA Footballer of the Year 2010
FFA Footballer of the Year 2009,2010
Order of Australia Medal 2009
Fulham Player of the Year 2008-2009
Premier League Player of the Month February 2010
Football Media Association Australia International Player of the Year 2008-2009