Seventeen of the best footballers playing in the A-Leagues and Australians playing overseas have been nominated for the 2022 PFA Player Awards.

From stars of the domestic competitions, such as Western United’s Swiss defender Léo Lacroix and Melbourne Victory’s Alex Chidiac, to the Socceroos’ Scottish champion Tom Rogic and Chelsea’s record-breaking league and double winner Sam Kerr, the nominees showcase the exceptional talent on display in Australia and the best players based overseas.

The winners will be revealed at the Dolan Warren Awards on Thursday 26 May, following a PFA Member vote. The nominees were selected by the PFA Awards Committee which is comprised of former players and figures in the Australia football media. 

The awards consider the performances of all players plying their trade in the A-Leagues and Australians based overseas during the 2021-2022 season and recognise, reward and celebrate the significant contribution of the game’s established and emerging players.

The PFA Players’ Awards have been presented annually since 2009, when former Socceroo Tim Cahill won the inaugural PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year. The PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year was introduced the following season, which was won by Servet Uzunlar in 2010.

PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year

Two of the A-League’s outstanding foreign players, former Swiss international and Western United defender LéoLacroix and Melbourne City FC’s Premiership winning French attacking midfielder Florin Berenguer headline the domestic men’s nominees following formidable seasons in the A-League Men. 

Fresh from securing the 2021/22 Scottish Premiership with Celtic, Tom Rogic was nominated after his renaissance for the Hoops under Ange Postecoglou. In addition to the SPL title, Rogic secured the Scottish Cup and was voted into the PFA Scotland Team of the Year.

The J-League’s Mitch Langerak, who was named in the 2021 J1 League’s Best 11 after breaking his own clean sheets record and setting a record of 823 consecutive minutes without conceding a goal, rounds out the nominees.

Previous Winners: Jamie Maclaren (2021), Mat Ryan (2020, 2019, 2015), Aaron Mooy (2018, 2017, 2016), Mile Jedinak (2014), Robbie Kruse (2013), Brett Holman (2012), Matt McKay (2011), Mark Schwarzer (2010), Tim Cahill (2009)  

PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year 

Four of the Matildas’ finest products constitute the nominees for the 2022 PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year, with three London-based Australian stars, Sam Kerr, Steph Catley and Caitlin Foord joining Lyon’s Ellie Carpenter. Carpenter, who was named both the PFA’s Women’s and Young Women’s Footballer of the Year in 2021, had another impressive campaign for club and country and will aim to secure the 2022 UEFA Women’s Champions League in a mouth-watering final against Barcelona in Turin, Italy, this Saturday. 

Arsenal’s Aussie duo of Catley, who won the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year in 2020, and Foord went within one point of the FA Women’s Super League title after campaigns which established their influence in England’s top tier competition.

Four-time winner of the PFA Award, Kerr completed an incredible record-breaking season with Chelsea. The Matildas forward finished with 29 goals and 8 assists across all competitions, lifting the FA Women’s Super League trophy for the third consecutive time, and the FA Women’s Cup for the second consecutive time. 

Previous Winners: Ellie Carpenter (2021), Steph Catley (2020), Sam Kerr (2013, 2017, 2018, 2019), Lydia Williams (2012, 2016), Katrina Gorry (2014), Elise Kellond-Knight (2011), Servet Uzunlar (2010)

PFA Harry Kewell Medal

Five of Australia’s best young emerging talents who have shone on both the domestic and international level have been nominated for the PFA’s Men’s Young Footballer of the Year, known as the Harry Kewell Medal. 

Former Sydney FC defender Joel King, who earned a move to Odense BK in the Danish Superliga, Heart of Midlothian duo Cameron Devlin and Nathaniel Atkinson, Toulouse’s Denis Genreau and Melbourne City FC’s Marco Tilio have received nominations for their performances for club and country. All five players have been involved in either one or both of the Olyroos Tokyo 2020 Olympic campaign and Socceroos’ FIFA World Cup Qualifying.

Previous Winners: Connor Metcalfe (2021), Liberato Cacace (2020), Chris Ikonomidis (2019), Daniel Arzani (2018), Alex Gersbach (2017), Jamie Maclaren (2016), Mat Ryan (2015, 2014, 2012), Marco Rojas (2013), Robbie Kruse (2011), Mitch Langerak (2010), Nikita Rukavytska (2009)

PFA Young Women’s Footballer of the Year

Back-to-back winner of the Young Women’s Footballer of the Year, Ellie Carpenter is up for a record third PFA Young Women’s Footballer of the Year after another excellent period for the Matildas and Olympique Lyonnais Féminin. 

At just 22, Carpenter continues to excel on the international stage and in Europe, having secured the Feminine Division 1 title with Lyon, who finished five points clear of Paris St. Germain. 

At just 19, Mary Fowler has emerged as a Matildas star for the future, completing her third season in the Feminine Division 1 for Montpellier and scoring twice in four games at the AFC Women’s Asian Cup for the Matildas in January. 

Melbourne Victory’s Alex Chidiac and Melbourne City FC’s Holly McNamara impressed both the nominations committee and Matildas head coach Tony Gustavsson, with both A-League Women’s players receiving call ups for an international friendly against New Zealand and the AFC Women’s Asian Cup in India, respectively.

Previous Winners: Ellie Carpenter (2020, 2021), Karly Roestbakken (2019), Alex Chidiac (2018, 2017)

Please note that PFA members have been sent a separate members-only communication to vote on the nominees.