• Socceroo and St Pauli midfielder Jackson Irvine joins the PFA Executive to fill a casual vacancy following the retirement of Nigel Boogaard
  • Mat RyanLydia Williams and President Alex Wilkinson re-elected to the Executive for a further three years 
  • Nigel BoogaardJon McKain, Laura Brock and Amy Chapman presented with PFA Life Membership
  • During the PFA’s 2021 Annual General Meeting, held today, PFA management detailed the organisation’s key achievements in the past 12 months, which feature in the PFA’s 2021 Annual Report

Socceroos midfielder Jackson Irvine has joined the PFA Executive to enhance the interests and experience of professional footballers in Australia and abroad.

Passionate about the careers of his peers and the continued development of Australian football, Irvine will play a key role in decision-making, representation and collective bargaining through his position on the Executive. 

Irvine will serve a one-year term on the Executive; the decision and policy-making body of the PFA, before being up for re-election.

“The current generation of players have been incredibly fortunate to have had leaders such as Mile Jedinak, Mark Milligan and Tim Cahill come before them and leave such an enormous legacy through their service on the PFA Executive,” said Irvine. 

“It is an honour to serve Australia’s footballers and the game and I am determined to play my part in advancing the interests of the players and the game.” 

Irvine joins the eight other active players on the Executive Board following the PFA’s 2021 Annual General Meeting held today, filling the ninth spot that became vacant upon the retirement of Nigel Boogaard, and is the second Socceroo to join the Executive in as many years, following goalkeeper Mat Ryan’s appointment in 2020. 

The remaining positions on the Executive are comprised of Matildas trio Elise Kellond-Knight, Lydia Williams and Tameka Yallop, A-Leagues players Tommy Oar, Kim Carroll, Nikolai Topor-Stanley and President Alex Wilkinson and PFA Co-Chief Executives Beau Busch and Kathryn Gill and PFA Chair Francis Awaritefe.

Boogaard served on the PFA Executive for five consecutive years from 2016 and played an influential role on behalf of the players.

The former Central Coast Mariners, Adelaide United and Newcastle Jets defender was recognised at the AGM for his contribution to the PFA with PFA Life Membership, alongside former Matildas Amy Chapman and Laura Brock and former Socceroo Jon McKain.

PFA Co-Chief Executive Kathryn Gill welcomed Irvine’s appointment and acknowledged the contribution of the PFA Life Members.

“We’re delighted to welcome Jackson and would like to congratulate him on his election to the Executive. His appointment further strengthens our organisation and the collective voice of Australian footballers.

“Jackson’s passion for his fellow peers and his desire to drive positive change within football will ensure fellow professionals to benefit from his leadership. 

“Jackson, along with the current Executive, will build upon the legacy of strong player leadership displayed by our Life Members. Each of their contributions has been critical to building the organisation and the game and supporting the interests of the players. We would like to thank Nigel, Amy, Jon and Laura for their outstanding commitment and dedication to the PFA.”

The PFA’s Annual Report released today outlines the PFA’s key achievements across the past 12 months, including: 

  • Collective Bargaining: Signing landmark five-year Collective Bargaining Agreements for the A-Leagues which deliver an increase to the A-League Women’s Salary Cap Floor, a spike to the A-League Men’s Salary Cap, incremental increases to minimum salaries across the A-Leagues and guaranteed funding for player wellbeing, development programs and support for the PFA Past Players Program.
  • Player Development: Establishment of the PFA Past Players Program, an initiative designed to better support former professional players and reconnect them with the game.
  • Through the PFA Player Development Program, 230 players undertook skill development workshops, 158 accessed Education Grants, 23 completed skin cancer checks, and 200 confidential counselling sessions were provided to members
  • Our Community: PFA and members committed $15,000 to charities during 2020/21, including Blind Sports Australia, John Moriarty Football and the Leukemia Foundation
  • Established ‘Our Greener Pitch’, an initiative designed to reduce the organisation’s climate impact and inspire positive climate action within Australian football. 
  • Player Representation: The PFA opened a record 206 new legal cases and recovered $2.11m for its members 
  • Research and Insights: In addition to the PFA’s annual reports covering the A-League Men’s and Women’s competitions, in 2021 the PFA released a Retired and Transitioned Players Report that reviewed the experience of players after their playing careers and culminated in the introduction of the PFA Past Players Program. 

Click here to access the 2021 PFA Annual Report

Current PFA Executive:

  • Alex Wilkinson (President) – Sydney FC
  • Lydia Williams – Matildas/Arsenal WFC
  • Tameka Yallop – Matildas/West Ham United
  • Elise Kellond-Knight – Matildas/Hammarby
  • Mat Ryan – Socceroos/Real Sociedad
  • Jackson Irvine – Socceroos/St. Pauli
  • Kim Carroll – Perth Glory
  • Tommy Oar – Macarthur FC
  • Nikolai Topor-Stanley – Western United
  • Beau Busch – PFA Co-Chief Executive
  • Kathryn Gill – PFA Co-Chief Executive
  • Francis Awaritefe – PFA Chair