Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) will honour the outstanding achievements of Harry Kewell after announcing that the Australian football legend will receive the prestigious PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal at the 2016 PFA Awards to be held at Crown Casino in Melbourne on December 6.

Proudly supported by PFA Major Partner LUCRF Super and Travellers Choice, the 56 times capped Socceroo joins Mark Schwarzer (2014), Frank Farina (2012), Mark Viduka (2011), Craig Johnston (2009) and the late greats of the sport Joe Marston (2008) and Johnny Warren (2008) as a Tobin Medal winner.

First awarded in 2008, the Tobin Medal was established to recognise Australian footballers that have demonstrated leadership, achievement as a player, commitment to their fellow professionals and service and dedication to the game.

PFA President Alex Wilkinson said it was fitting that Kewell would now take his place alongside the likes of Marston and Warren as a Tobin Medalist.

“Harry’s achievements for club and country inspired the nation’s young footballers and showed that no limits should be placed on what Australian footballers can achieve if they work tirelessly and commit wholeheartedly to the game,” said Wilkinson.

“The image of Harry scoring against Croatia to send the Socceroos into the knockout stages of the 2006 World Cup is one of game’s most iconic and this, along with countless others, will live long in the memories of all football fans.”

The former Liverpool and Leeds forward said he was delighted to be receiving the award.

“It’s a huge honour to be awarded the Alex Tobin Medal by the players and one that I’m incredibly proud of,” said Kewell, who will also be conducting Harry Kewell Academy clinics whilst in Melbourne.

“The respect and admiration of your fellow professionals is something that means so much to all players and that is why this award is so special.

“To join the likes of Craig Johnston, Johnny Warren and Joe Marston as a Tobin Medalist is a huge honour. These legends of our game were pioneers for Australian football and inspired so many of us.”

PFA Chief Executive John Didulica said Kewell embodied the values of the medal and as such was the unanimous choice of the PFA Executive.

“Harry deserves to be recognised alongside the greatest footballers we have produced,” said Didulica. “His journey alone from suburban Sydney to the peaks of world football is a remarkable achievement, without even discussing the beauty of his football.

“Those who have worked with Harry appreciate how committed he was to his profession and how much knowledge and passion he has for football. The PFA is proud to recognise his contribution to Australian football with the PFA’s most prestigious individual award.”

The 2016 PFA Awards will be held on December 6 at Crown Casino, Melbourne. For more information or to purchase your ticket to the event go to:

Whilst in Melbourne Harry will be conducting an inaugural ALL FEMALE Masterclass in Cheltenham and a mixed Masterclass in Ringwood with the Harry Kewell Academy.

Harry Kewell Career Statistics

Club Career

  • Leeds United, England
  • Liverpool, England
  • Galatasaray, Turkey
  • Melbourne Victory, Australia
  • Al-Gharafa, Qatar
  • Melbourne Heart, Australia

International Career

  • 56 Caps
  • 17 goals
  • Two FIFA World Cup Finals Appearances
  • Two AFC Asian Cups Appearances

Club Honours

  • UEFA Champions League Winner
  • UEFA Super Cup Winner
  • FIFA Club World Cup
  • FA Cup Winner
  • FA Youth Cup Winner

International Honours

  • AFC Asian Cup Runner Up

Individual Honours

  • PFA Team of the Year, 2000
  • PFA Young Player of the Year,1999
  • Oceania Footballer of the Year, 1999, 2001, 2003
  • AFC Asian Cup Team of the Tournament, 2011
  • AFC Asian Team of the Year, 2011
  • A-League Team of the Season, 2011/12
  • Voted as Australia’s Greatest Ever Footballer, 2012
  • Asian Football Hall of Fame, 2014


Beau Busch | PFA Media and Communications Manager

PH: +61 (0) 432 763 485