Members of the PFA Executive and PFA A-League Delegates’ Committee will meet in Brisbane next Tuesday 12 June 2012 to consider key issues confronting Australian football, including the upcoming renegotiation of the A-League Collective Bargaining Agreement.

The current CBA expires on 30 April 2013.

The joint meeting of the PFA Executive & Delegates’ Committees will see representatives from all A-League clubs in attendance.

The extensive agenda for the meeting highlights the comprehensive nature of the PFA’s work, with discussions to include:
•              Socceroos Collective Bargaining Agreement 2011- 2014
•              Matildas Collective Bargaining Agreement 2010-2013
•              The A-League Collective Bargaining Agreement
•              FFA’s Media Rights
•              The New Sydney Team
•              The competitive balance within the A-League

The key issues of player concern discussed at previous player meetings on 26 March in Sydney, will be continued in the A-League Collective Bargaining Agreement discussions. 5 key areas have been identified by the players for the new CBA: 1) the professional career path, including contract security; 2) terms of employment; 3) freedom of movement/salary cap; 4) education and player development; and 5) life after football including the establishment of a retirement fund.

The meetings will also consider detailed research into the operation of the current CBA since 2008.
PFA President Simon Colosimo thanks all players who will be in attendance, expressing his appreciation at players being available to travel during the off-season and in some cases their holiday period.

“It’s a great opportunity to get together to discuss the issues arising around the CBA, especially in this important time approaching negotiations for a new CBA, and I’d like to thank all players who will be in attendance.” Colosimo said.

The PFA Executive and Delegates’ meetings will be followed the next day by the PFA Awards which include the annual PFA Footballers of the Year Awards and PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal.

PFA members are continuing to cast their votes for the players’ of the year.