Players take to the polls as voting for the 2015/16 Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) A-League Team of the Season gets underway.

Aimed at recognising outstanding on pitch performances, the team is voted on by all of the PFA’s A-League members, with players asked to vote on a 16 player squad in a 4-3-3 formation, including a goalkeeper, a defender, three midfielders and a forward as the elite team’s substitutes.

Established in 2009, the captain of the side is selected by the PFA Awards Committee, which boasts a collection of some of the greatest former Australian football professionals, journalists and football analysts in the game. The players also vote on the Coach and Referee of the Season.

With the team set to be announced at a Gala Event in Sydney on April 11, PFA President Matt McKay said the players faced a tough task in selecting their team, with countless players having excelled.

“The quality on display throughout this season has never been higher,” said McKay.

“This season has seen the emergence of some stellar young players, which bodes well for the future, as well as some truly outstanding performances from our more seasoned professionals and imports.

“For players, the ultimate honour you can receive is the recognition of your peers and that is what makes the PFA A-League Team of the Season so special for the players.

“The Gala Event will also give the current generation of players an opportunity to reflect on and celebrate the enormous contribution of the players who came before us.

“On behalf of all our members I would like to thank PFA Major Corporate Partner LUCRF Super and Travellers Choice for their continued support of the PFA Awards.”