Stars of Australia’s national teams Sam Kerr, Tom Rogic, Mary Fowler and Denis Genreau have won the PFA’s prestigious player-voted awards.

The quartet, all products of the A-Leagues, were unveiled as winners of the 2022 PFA Players’ Awards, which celebrate the significant contribution of football’s established and emerging players, at the Dolan-Warren Awards night on Thursday evening.

  • Sam Kerr has been voted by her peers as the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year for a record fifth time after incredible campaign for Chelsea and the Matildas
  • Socceroos and Celtic attacking midfielder Tommy Rogic was voted as the PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year for the first time
  • Toulouse and Socceroos midfielder Denis Genreau has been voted as the winner of the PFA Harry Kewell Medal; the PFA Men’s Young Footballer of the Year
  • Montpellier-based Matilda Mary Fowler won the PFA Young Women’s Footballer of the Year 

PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year: Sam Kerr

Kerr, a previous winner of the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year on four occasions (2013, 2017, 2018 and 2019), won her fifth medal after another remarkable season for both club and country. 

In the space of the past season, Kerr won her 100th cap for the Matildas, equalled and then surpassed Tim Cahill’s goal-scoring record in Australian internationals, won the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup Golden Boot and became the second Australian female footballer to receive the Order of Australia (OAM) for her services to football, following in the footsteps of Julie Dolan.

Capping off an incredible season with Chelsea, Kerrlifted the FA Women’s Super League trophy for the third consecutive time, the FA Women’s Cup for the second consecutive time, and secured her first FAWSL Golden Boot with 22 league goals in England.

Kerr said: “It’s an absolute honour to win this award. To be recognised by my peers is the biggest compliment I could ever receive. It’s been an incredible year for the Matildas, myself and Chelsea. I couldn’t have done it without all of my teammates so I am very grateful to be part of two amazing teams.”

PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year: Tom Rogic

Enjoying a renaissance at Celtic, Rogic helped spearhead the Hoops’ Championship-winning campaign under Ange Postecoglou, lifting the Scottish Premiership trophy and the Scottish League Cup in a return to career-best form.

On the way to the double, Rogic made 50 appearances in all competitions for Celtic, scoring six goals and assisting 10, before the ‘Wizard of Oz’, as he became known by the Celtic faithful, enjoyed an emotional farewell from Celtic Park earlier this month after a decade in Glasgow.

When available for Socceroos duty, Rogic translated his stunning club form for the green and gold, featuring in six matches for the national team and contributing to four wins via his influential play in Australia’s midfield.

Rogic said: “It’s a huge honour to be named the PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year. To win this award voted by all my peers is very special. It’s been a great year and I hope to be able to top it off with qualification for the World Cup with the Socceroos.”

PFA Young Women’s Footballer of the Year: Mary Fowler

Fowler continued her meteoric rise in Australian football this season, recently completing her second campaign at Montpellier in the top flight of French football, the Division 1 Féminine.

The teenager, who turned 19 in February, also impressed on the international stage, cementing herself in the Matildas set-up ahead of next year’s 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. 

Possessing speed, tight ball control, creativity and vision, Fowler continues to grow as emerging star of Australian football, and earned the vote of her peers for the first time. 

Fowler said: “It’s a special honour for me to win this award, it’s really special and means a lot to me and I’m so grateful. To my teammates and coaching staff, I’d like to say thank you for making it so easy for me to be myself on and off the field.”

PFA Harry Kewell Medal: Denis Genreau

Genreau, the French-born Socceroo, had a season to remember for club side Toulouse, helping to guide Les Violets to the Ligue 2 title and subsequent promotion to Ligue 1, France’s top flight.

In his first season in French football, Genreau become a regular starter for Toulouse, making 34 appearances and scoring the decisive goal against Nîmes to secure promotion –  and kick-start wild celebrations in the south of France earlier this month.

For the Socceroos, Genreau earned valuable international experience in FIFA World Cup Qualifying, following his form for the Olyroos at the rescheduled Tokyo Olympics in 2021.

Genreau said: “I’m very grateful to win the PFA Young Footballer of the Year; it’s something that is a reward for what has been a great season for myself and for my football club.  To win an award named after Harry Kewell, [a player that] as a young Australian footballer everyone looks up to, and to follow in the footsteps of the other players who have won in the past, it’s something I am very thankful for.”

2022 Nominees: Seventeen football stars up for PFA Players’ Awards

About the PFA Players’ Awards
PFA Players’ Awards recognise, reward and celebrate Australia’s most outstanding male and female players each season, based on the principle of peer recognition. The awards consider both the domestic and international features of the career path pursued by elite Australian professionals. The awards were voted on by the PFA membership and take into account the performances of PFA members during the recently concluded 2021/22 regular season. 

Previous Winners: 

Men’s Footballer of the Year Winners: Tom Rogic (2022), Jamie Maclaren (2021), Mat Ryan (2020, 2019, 2015), Aaron Mooy (2018, 2017, 2016), Mile Jedinak (2014), Robbie Kruse (2013), Brett Holman (2012), Matt McKay (2011), Mark Schwarzer (2010), Tim Cahill (2009)  

Women’s Footballer of the Year Winners: Sam Kerr (2022, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2013), Ellie Carpenter (2021), Steph Catley (2020), Lydia Williams (2016, 2012), Katrina Gorry (2014), Elise Kellond-Knight (2011), Servet Uzunlar (2010)

Harry Kewell Medal (PFA Men’s Young Footballer of the Year): Denis Genreau (2022), Connor Metcalfe (2021), Liberato Cacace (2020), Chris Ikonomidis (2019), Daniel Arzani (2018), Alex Gersbach (2017), Jamie Maclaren (2016), Mat Ryan (2015, 2014, 2012), Marco Rojas (2013), Robbie Kruse (2011), Mitch Langerak (2010), Nikita Rukavytska (2009)

Young Women’s Footballer of the Year: Mary Fowler (2022), Ellie Carpenter (2021, 2020), Karly Roestbakken (2019), Alex Chidiac (2018, 2017)