Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) is pleased to announce the nominees for the PFA Footballer of the Year, the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year and Harry Kewell Medalist for the 2013/14 season.

Recognising outstanding performance for club and country the nominees were selected from footballers playing in the A-League, W-League or Australian players based overseas.

With 10 of the 16 male nominees for the PFA Footballer of the Year and PFA Harry Kewell Medal part of the Socceroos Asian Cup squad, the shortlist was selected by the PFA Awards Committee, which is made up of former Socceroos greats and leading figures in the Australian football media. The nominees are then voted on by over 250 professional players, both in Australia and overseas, to determine the winners.

The PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year is determined by a vote put directly to all female PFA members on a 3-2-1 basis, with the winner awarded a medal featuring the image of Matildas legend Cheryl Salisbury.

The winners of the PFA Footballer of the Year and PFA Harry Kewell Medal will be announced in Brisbane, on Thursday, January 15, with the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year to be announced on January 29.

The nominees are as follows:

PFA Footballer of the Year:

  • Mark Bresciano (Al-Gharafa, Qatar)
  • Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls, USA)
  • Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace, England)
  • Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt 04, Germany)
  • Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory, Australia)
  • Mat Ryan (Club Brugge, Belgium)
  • Matt Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers, Australia)

PFA Women’s Player of the Year:

  • Katrina Gorry (Brisbane Roar, Australia)
  • Emily van Egmond (Newcastle Jets, Australia)
  • Samantha Kerr (Perth Glory, Australia)

PFA Harry Kewell Medal (U23)

  • Jason Davidson (West Bromich Albion, England)
  • Ben Halloran (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)
  • Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt 04, Germany)
  • Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town, England)
  • Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht, Netherlands)
  • Mat Ryan (Club Brugge , Belgium)
  • Trent Sainsbury (PEC Zwolle, Netherlands)
  • Adam Taggart (Fulham, England)
  • Bailey Wright (Preston North End, England)

With previous award winners including Tim Cahill, Mark Schwarzer, Sam Kerr and Robbie Kruse, PFA President Matt McKay said the nominees were another stellar cast.

“The recognition of your peers is the most prestigious individual honour you can receive as a professional player,” said McKay.

“In a year when our players have excelled both at home in the A-League and W-League and on the world stage with the National Teams at the World Cup and Asian Cup the bar has once again been set extremely high.

“The 19 nominees should be extremely proud of their achievements and the significant role they continue to play in ensuring Australian football and its players are highly respected both at home and around the world.”