Two Melbourne-based stars of the A-Leagues have been voted by their peers as the Austraffic Players of the Month.

Melbourne Victory’s Bruno Fornaroli and Melbourne City’s Holly McNamara have taken out October’s award, voted on by A-Leagues players. 

With only two matches played in the opening month of the Izuzu Ute A-League Men season, Victory’s striker Fornaroli was deemed to be the in-form player by his peers, finishing in the vote ahead of nominees Nestory Irankunda (Adelaide United), Jay O’Shea (Brisbane Roar), Wellington Phoenix’s Alex Paulsen and Western Sydney Wanderers’ Lachlan Brook.

The Uruguayan netted four goals in Victory’s opening round – a 5-3 win over Newcastle Jets – before scoring in the 2-0 Big Blue win over Sydney FC in Round 2.

The 36-year-old Fornaroli scored seven goals in 20 outings last season, with his five goals in October setting him up for a more prolific season for Victory in 2023/24.

“I just want to say thank you for voting for me, not just my teammates, but for the opponents as well, and that is why I think this award is so special. It’s always good to be recognised by everyone, so, again, thank you very much.”

City’s Holly McNamara has been one of the outstanding players in the Liberty A-League Women to commence the 2023/24 season. McNamara won the player vote ahead of teammate Rhianna Pollicina, Perth Glory duo Susan Phonsongkham and Millie Farrow and Brisbane Roar’s Jenna McCormick.

“Thank you to everyone who voted for me for the PFA Player of the month,” McNamara said. “It’s a huge honour for me and I’m very grateful to voted by my peers. Thank you to all of my teammates who bring the best out of me everyday and all of the staff at Melbourne City who help me play with freedom.”

Through the PFA’s partnership with Park SCC, Fornaroli and McNamara will receive a specially designed ball, which is aims to illustrate the different journeys a player takes both in life and on the pitch, and how the values of the PFA (Courage, Intelligence, Respect, Trust and World Class) guide them and are a part of those journeys.

Both players will nominate a grassroots club or school who will be recipients of Park SCC footballs.