Wellington Phoenix’s Fijian flyer Roy Krishna has been voted the PFA Player of the Month for the second time this season.

Having scooped the award for his performances in January, Krishna was again voted by his peers as the leading player in April, ahead of Perth Glory’s Diego Castro, Sydney FC’s Rhyan Grant and Melbourne City’s Riley McGree.

The New Zealand citizen enjoyed a free-scoring season, with 19 goals in 27 appearances; his best career return, earning the A-League Golden Boot and securing numerous goal-scoring records throughout the campaign.

Krishna is now Phoenix’s all-time top goal scorer and the first player for the New Zealand-based team to score 50 goals.

In April, Krishna scored three of his season tally, netting his first ever A-League hat-trick in the Round 26 fixture against Melbourne City.

The Phoenix hit-man said his achievements were a result of the hard work of his teammates in what he described as a “special season” for the Nix.

“It feels great to win these kind of awards, especially to get recognised by those who have played and been involved in the game,” Krishna said.

“It’s been such a special season this year and I’m grateful to have been able to play my part.

“It’s a fantastic achievement and I owe this award to the club, the fans and of course my teammates. 

”They were the ones who have believed in me, encouraged me and have pushed me to achieve more on the pitch.”

With Krishna winning the award on two occasions and David Williams once in March, Wellington Phoenix finish the season as the club with the most Player of the Month awards in the A-League.

Each month, the nominees are put forward by a committee comprised of former players and leading figures in the Australian football media, before the nominees are voted on by PFA members.

The award recognises the on-field efforts of the players in Australia’s domestic competitions and was established in 2014.

Following the format of the PFA Player of the Year and Harry Kewell Medal voting, A-League players are asked to vote in a 3-2-1 basis from a shortlist of nominees chosen by an awards committee at the end of each month.

The PFA A-League Player of the Month is proudly supported by PFA Major Corporate Partner LUCRF Super. 

Hyundai A-League and W-League PFA Player of the Month Winners (2018/19):

  • October / November:                           Natasha Dowie, Keisuke Honda
  • December:                                          Ola Toivonen, Veronica Latsko
  • January:                                             Roy Krishna, Christine Nairn
  • February:                                           Diego Castro
  • March:                                               David Williams
  • April:                                                 Roy Krishna