Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) has today announced the nominees for the PFA A-League Player of the Month for October.

Dominated by Adelaide United and Melbourne Victory players the six nominees were selected by an awards committee, which is made up of former Socceroos and leading figures in the Australian football media.

Covering A-League rounds one to four the nominees for the PFA A-League Player of the Month for October are:

  • Besart Berisha, Melbourne Victory;
  • Andy Keogh, Perth Glory;
  • Marcelo Carrusca, Adelaide United;
  • Kosta Barbarouses, Melbourne Victory;
  • Sergio Cirio, Adelaide United; and
  • Milos Dimitrijevic, Sydney FC.

With the six-man shortlist to now be voted on by the PFA’s A-League members PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian said it was fitting that such a stellar group of footballers were in line to become the inaugural recipients of the Player of the Month Award.

“The nominees further highlight the ever improving standard of the competition, with all six worthy of becoming the first player to win the award,” said Vivian. “Perhaps the greatest compliment that can be paid to the nominees is the quality of the players they have edged out to make the shortlist.

“The task for the players in choosing the winner will not be an easy one and will now doubt spark plenty of debate in A-League change rooms across the league and in the football community in general.”

PFA President Matt McKay paid tribute to the six nominees and said all six were extremely worthy of the recognition.

“We were fortunate to have witnessed some truly outstanding performances in the opening four weeks of the season and none more so than from the six nominees,” said the Socceroos midfielder.

“Finally I would like to acknowledge the efforts of the award’s committee, who faced a really tough task and have selected fitting nominees for the players to now vote on.”

The PFA A-League Player of the Month for October will be announced in the coming days.

PFA A-League Player of the Month Awards Committee:

  • John Aloisi, former Socceroo & Fox Sports
  • Adam Peacock, Fox Sports
  • Clint Bolton, former Socceroo, SBS
  • Tom Smithies, Daily Telegraph
  • David Zdrilic, former Socceroo, SBS
  • Kevin Airs, 442